You are in the archive section. Content on this page may no longer be valid.

Le Canada est une destination attrayante pour les personnes qui étudient aux États-Unis.

Beaucoup d'étudiants étrangers aux États-Unis profitent de l'occasion pour explorer l'Amérique du Nord et découvrir d’autres villes, paysages naturels et d’autres cultures qu’offrent le Canada. Avant de partir, il faut néanmoins tenir compte de deux facteurs importants:

ÉTAPE UNE: S’assurer que votre documents d’immigration américains sont au point pour votre retour aux Etats-Unis.

  • Visa Etudiant F-1 (F-1 Student Visa) requière :
    • Un formulaire I-20 SEVIS, signé en page 3 par le superviseur du Bureau des Services des Etudiants Internationaux ;
    • Un tampon F valide dans votre passeport (à moins que vous vous qualifiez pour une Automatic Visa Revalidation*);
    • Preuves de vos fonds monétaires tels que listés dans la section 8 du formulaire I-20.
    • Note: F-2 Les personnes à charge ont besoin de leurs originaux pour les deux éléments cités.
    • Note: si vous avez un visa F-1 Practical Training, vous aurez besoin de prendre avec vous votre Employment Authorization Card (EAC) et votre lettre d’emploi/recherche d’emploi. Si vous n’êtes pas à l’emploi, vous devrez apporter la preuve de vos fonds. La signature de voyage pour le Post-Graduation Practical Training est valide pour une période de six mois.
  • Visa Echange Visiteur J-1 (J-1 Exchange Visitor Visa) requière :
    • Un valid DS-2019 valide dans la section Travel Validation signé par un agent responsable du programme Exchange Visitor;
    • Un tampon visa J dans votre passeport (à moins que vous vous qualifiez pour une Automatic Visa Revalidation*);
    • Preuves de vos fonds monétaires tels que listés dans la Section 5 du DS-2019.
    • Note: F-2 Les personnes à charge ont besoin de leurs originaux pour les deux éléments cités.

Sous la procédure du Automatic Visa Revalidation, la plupart des étudiants peuvent retourner aux Etats-Unis depuis le Canada avec un visa expiré, mentionnant que leur séjour au Canada ne peut excéder 30 jours. Les citoyens d’Iraq, d’Iran, de Syrie, de Libye, du Soudan, de la Corée du Nord, et de Cuba ne sont pas éligibles pour une Automatic Visa Revalidation. Ces étudiants devront faire une demande pour demander un nouveau tampon au Consulat ou l’Ambassade des Etats-Unis si leur visa expire à leur prochaine entrée aux Etats-Unis.

ÉTAPE DEUX: Découvrez si vous aurez besoin d’un visa visiteur pour le Canada afin de voyager au Canada.

 

A moins que vous soyez un ressortissant de l’un des pays exempté de visa, vous devrez obtenir une visa de résident temporaire de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada. A visa de touriste est généralement délivré pour une période de six mois et vous pouvez en faire la demande auprès du Bureau d’immigration Canada le plus proche de chez vous.

Washington, D.C.
The Canadian Embassy
Immigration Section
501 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C.
20001, USA
http://can-am.gc.ca/washington/index.aspx?lang=fra

Detroit, Michigan
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
Suite 1100
600 Renaissance Centre
Detroit, Michigan
48243-1798, USA
http://can-am.gc.ca/detroit/index.aspx?lang=fra

Los Angeles, California
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
550 South Hope Street, 9th Floor
Los Angeles, California
90071, USA
http://can-am.gc.ca/los-angeles/index.aspx?lang=fra

New York, New York
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
1251 Avenue of the Americas
Concourse Level
New York, New York
10020-1175, USA
http://can-am.gc.ca/new-york/index.aspx?lang=fra

Seattle, Washington
Canadian Consulate General, Seattle
Immigration Section
1501 4th Ave.
Suite 600
Seattle, WA
98101-4328
http://can-am.gc.ca/seattle/index.aspx?lang=fra

Note Importante: Il est déconseillé pour les étudiants internationaux sous un visa F ou J de se rendre au Canada pour obtenir un nouveau visa auprès d'un consulat des États-Unis. Si vous faites une demande pour un visa au Canada, vous devrez attendre jusqu'à ce qu'il soit approuvé avant de pouvoir retourner aux États-Unis. Si la nouvelle demande de visa n’est pas approuvé par le consulat américain au Canada, vous ne serez pas autorisé à rentrer aux États-Unis de nouveau et vous devriez alors peut-être avoir à retourner dans votre pays d'origine directement depuis le Canada. Une fois dans votre pays d'origine vous serez en mesure de faire une nouvelle demande de visa pour rentrer aux États-Unis. Nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller à votre bureau des services aux étudiants étrangers à ce sujet.

Informations reliées

You are in the archive section. Content on this page may no longer be valid.

Canada is an attractive and convenient travel destination for international students that are studying in the United States.

Many foreign students in the US take the opportunity to explore North America and experience the exciting cities, vast natural landscapes, and distinct cultures that Canada has to offer. Before you go, consider these two important factors:

STEP ONE: Ensure that all your United States immigration documents are in order for when you return to the USA.

  • F-1 Student Visa Holders will require
    • A valid SEVIS Form I-20, signed on Page 3 by an advisor at your International Student Services Office;
    • A valid F visa stamp in your passport (unless you qualify for Automatic Visa Revalidation*);
    • Evidence of monetary support as listed in Section 8 of the I-20.
    • Note: F-2 Dependents will need their own originals of the first two items.
    • Note: If you have F-1 Practical Training you will need to carry your Employment Authorization Card (EAC) and your letter of employment/research. If you are not yet employed, you will need a proof of personal funds. The travel signature for Post-Graduation Practical Training is valid for a period of six months.
  • J-1 Exchange Visitor Visa Holders will require
    • A valid DS-2019, signed in the Travel Validation section by a responsible officer of your Exchange Visitor Program;
    • A valid J visa stamp in your passport (unless you qualify for Automatic Visa Revalidation*);
    • Evidence of monetary support as listed in Section 5 of the DS-2019.
    • Note: F-2 Dependents will need their own originals of the first two items.

* Under the process of Automatic Visa Revalidation, most students can return to the US from Canada on an expired visa stamp, provided that their stay in Canada is no longer than 30 days. Citizens of Iraq, Iran, Syria, Libya, Sudan, North Korea, and Cuba are not eligible for Automatic Visa Revalidation. These students will need to apply for a new visa stamp at a United States consulate or embassy if their visa stamp will be expired upon re-entry to the US.

STEP TWO: Find out whether you will need a Canada Visitor Visa in order to travel to Canada.

Unless your country of citizenship is among the visa-exempt countries, you will need to obtain a Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) from Citizenship and Immigration Canada. A tourist TRV is generally issued for a period of six months and can be applied for at your nearest Canadian Immigration Visa Office.

Washington, D.C.
The Canadian Embassy
Immigration Section
501 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C.
20001, USA
http://www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/can-am/menu-en.asp
Detroit, Michigan
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
Suite 1100
600 Renaissance Centre
Detroit, Michigan
48243-1798, USA
http://www.detroit.gc.ca
Los Angeles, California
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
550 South Hope Street, 9th Floor
Los Angeles, California
90071, USA
http://www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/los_angeles
New York, New York
Consulate General of Canada
Immigration Section
1251 Avenue of the Americas
Concourse Level
New York, New York
10020-1175, USA
http://www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/new_york
Seattle, Washington
Canadian Consulate General, Seattle
Immigration Section
1501 4th Ave.
Suite 600
Seattle, WA
98101-4328
http://www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca/seattle
 

 

Important Note: It is not advisable for international students on F or J visas to travel to Canada to obtain a new visa stamp from a United States Consulate. If you apply for a visa stamp in Canada, you will need to wait until it is approved before you can head back to the US. If your new visa application is not approved by the US Consulate in Canada, you will not be permitted to reenter the United States and may need to return to your home country directly from Canada. Only in your home country will you be able to apply for your visa stamp to reenter the US. You should consult an advisor at your International Student Services Office about this matter.

Study

Latest News

  • Canada to Lift Temporary Resident Visa (TRV) Requirement for Mexican Visitors

    Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has announced that the government of Canada will lift the visa requirement for citizens of Mexico as of December 1, 2016. This announcement was made on day two of a three-day visit from Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto and comes as proof of Canada’s priority to re-establish a strong relationship with Mexico, one of its most important international partners.

  • British Columbia Issues Invitations to Apply to International Graduates and Entry Level/Semi-Skilled Workers

    The Canadian province of British Columbia has issued a further 194 Invitations to Apply (ITAs) for its British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BC PNP) through two categories: Express Entry B.C. – International Graduate and Skills Immigration – Entry-Level and Semi-Skilled. The ITAs were issued to a range of candidates on June 2.