Afin d'étudier au Canada, un ressortissant étranger doit normalement demander et obtenir un permis d'études canadien. Cependant, il existe certaines circonstances dans lesquelles un étudiant étranger est dispensé de cette obligation.

Courtes études au Canada

Les personnes sont dispensées d’un permis d'études pour poursuivre un programme d'études de six mois ou moins. Les cours peuvent être dans n’importe quel domaine et peuvent être à temps partiel ou à temps plein. Pour être dispensé d'un permis d'études, le programme d'études doit être achevé dans un délai de six mois. La prolongation du visa ne sera accordée que dans le seul but de terminer un programme à court terme.

Les ressortissants étrangers au Canada sans permis d'études qui souhaitent s'inscrire à un programme scolaire doivent demander un permis à l'extérieur du Canada. Une exception peut être faite si le cours à court terme peut être complété dans le délai initial de séjour indiqué lors de leur entrée au Canada.

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada recommande aux ressortissants étrangers d’obtenir un permis d'études pour un programme de six mois ou moins s’ils ont l'intention de travailler sur le campus ou de poursuivre leurs études au Canada au-delà du programme initial.

Enfants mineurs au Canada

Tout enfant mineur résidant au Canada peut étudier dans une école maternelle, primaire ou secondaire sans permis d'études. Cela s’applique pour les enfants des étudiants ou des travailleurs temporaires, ainsi qu’aux enfants de citoyens canadiens et résidents permanents.

Cette exception ne s’applique pas aux enfants des résidents temporaires, qui ne sont pas autorisés à travailler ou étudier au Canada (comme les visiteurs par exemple).

Membres de famille et personnel d’un représentant étranger

Les membres de la famille ou des membres du personnel des représentants étrangers accrédités n’ont pas besoin de permis pour étudier au Canada. Dans le cadre de cette exception, un membre de la famille est défini comme:

  • L’époux(se) ou conjoint(e) de fait;
  • L’enfant à charge ou son époux(se) ou conjoint(e) de fait; ou
  • L’enfant à charge d’un enfant à charge.

Membres des forces armées présentes au Canada

Les membres des forces armées d'un pays qui est un État désigné en vertu de Loi sur les forces étrangères présentes au Canada ne nécessitent pas de permis pour étudier au Canada.

La Loi sur les forces étrangères répertorie les pays suivants comme États désignés:

Albanie

Hongrie

Oman

Antigua and Barbuda

Iselande

Polande

Australie

Italie

Portugal

Azerbaijan

Côte d’Ivoire

Romanie

Bangladesh

Jamaique

Sierra Leone

Barbades

Japon

Singapour

Belgique

Kazakhstan

République Slovaque

Brunei

Kenya

Slovenie

Bulgarie

Corée

Espagne

Cameroun

Koweit

Soudan

Croatie

Lettonie

Suède

Republique Tchèque

Lithuanie

Swaziland

Danmark

Luxembourg

Tanzanie

El Salvador

Malawi

Trinidad and Tobago

Estonie

Malaysie

Uganda

Ethiopie

Moldavie

Ukraine

Finlande

Nepal

Emirats Arabes Unis

France

Nouvelle Zélande

Etats-Unis

Georgie

Nicaragua

Uzbekistan

Ghana

Niger

Venezuela

Grèce

Nigeria

Zambie

Guyane

Norvège

Zimbabwe

Étudier

In order to study in Canada at any level, a foreign national is usually required to apply for and receive a Canadian study permit. However, there are circumstances in which a foreign student is exempt from this requirement.

Are you eligible?

To find out if you are eligible for a Canadian Study Permit, fill out a free assessment form.

Study Assessment Form

Short-Term Study in Canada

Individuals do not require a study permit in order to pursue a program of study for six months or less. Courses may consist of any subject(s), and may be taken on a part- or full-time basis. In order to be deemed exempt from the requirement for a study permit, the course of study should be completed within the six month period. A visa extension will not be granted for the sole purpose of completing a short-term program.

Foreign nationals in Canada without a study permit who wish to enroll in an educational program must apply for a study permit from outside Canada. An exception may be made if the course is short-term in nature and can be completed within the original period of stay specified upon their entry to Canada.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada recommends that foreign nationals seek a study permit for a program of six months or less if they intend to work on campus or continue their studies in Canada after completion of the initial program.

Minor Children in Canada

Any minor child residing in Canada may study at a pre-school, primary or secondary level without a study permit. This applies to the children of temporary students or workers, as well as Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

This exception does not apply to children of temporary residents who are not authorized to work or study in Canada (i.e. visitors).

Family Members and Private Staff of Diplomats

Family members or members of the private staff of foreign diplomats and foreign accredited representatives do not require a permit to study in Canada. For purposes of this exception, a family member is defined as:

  • A spouse or common-law partner;
  • The dependent child of the individual or their spouse/common-law partner; or
  • The dependent child of a dependent child.

Members of Foreign Armed Forces in Canada

Members of the armed forces of a country that is a designated state under the Visiting Forces Act do not require a permit to study in Canada.

The Visiting Forces Act lists the following countries as designated states:
Albania Hungary Oman
Antigua and Barbuda Iceland Poland
Australia Italy Portugal
Azerbaijan Ivory Coast Romania
Bangladesh Jamaica Sierra Leone
Barbados Japan Singapore
Belgium Kazakhstan Slovak Republic
Brunei Kenya Slovenia
Bulgaria Korea Spain
Cameroon Kuwait Sudan
Croatia Latvia Sweden
Czech Republic Lithuania Swaziland
Denmark Luxembourg Tanzania
El Salvador Malawi Trinidad and Tobago
Estonia Malaysia Uganda
Ethiopia Moldova Ukraine
Finland Nepal United Arab Emirates
France New Zealand United States
Georgia Nicaragua Uzbekistan
Ghana Niger Venezuela
Greece Nigeria Zambia
Guyana Norway Zimbabwe

Tools and Resources

Latest News

  • Ontario Opens Express Entry Human Capital Priorities Stream for new Applications, NOIs to Follow

    Ontario is welcoming new applications under its Express Entry-aligned Human Capital Priorities stream, part of the Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP). The province also expects to begin issuing Notifications of Interest (NOIs) to eligible candidates in the Express Entry pool before the end of 2017.

  • British Columbia Draws Invite 353 Workers, International Graduates, and Entrepreneurs

    The government of British Columbia continues to invite workers, international graduates, and entrepreneurs at low points thresholds in the most recent draws conducted on October 25 and November 1.