De nombreux étudiants étrangers qui complètent leur scolarité post-secondaire au Canada souhaitent rester et obtenir une expérience de travail canadienne.

Une fois leurs études terminées dans un programme admissible au sein d’ n établissement agrée d'enseignement post-secondaire au Canada, les diplômés peuvent présenter une demande de permis de travail postdiplôme qui leur permet de travailler au Canada.

Dans ses efforts de rétention des étudiants étrangers, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) offre le Programme de travail postdiplôme. Dans le cadre de ce programme, les diplômés peuvent obtenir un permis de travail ouvert pour une période pouvant aller jusqu’à trois ans leur permettant de travailler pour n'importe quel employeur canadien dans n'importe quelle industrie. Ils ne sont pas tenus d'avoir une offre d'emploi au Canada au moment de la demande.

Pour être admissible au programme, les étudiants internationaux doivent:

  • Avoir étudié continuellement à temps plein durant les huit mois précédant la fin de leur programme et avoir obtenu un diplôme par:
    • un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire public, tel qu’un collège, une école technique ou de métiers, une université ou un collège d’enseignement général et professionnel (cégep) au Québec,
    • un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire privé assujetti aux mêmes règlements que les établissements postsecondaires publics,
    • un établissement d’enseignement secondaire ou postsecondaire privé (au Québec) offrant des programmes admissibles d’une durée de 900 heures ou plus menant à l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études professionnelles (DEP) ou d’une attestation de spécialisation professionnelle (ASP),
    • un établissement d’enseignement canadien privé autorisé à décerner des diplômes (c.-à-d. un baccalauréat, une maîtrise ou un doctorat) en vertu d’une loi provinciale, mais seulement si l’étudiant est inscrit à un programme d’études reconnu par la province menant à l’obtention d’un diplôme, et non à n’importe quel programme d’études offert par l’établissement d’enseignement privé;
  • Demander un permis de travail dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de la confirmation écrite de leur établissement d'enseignement qu'ils ont satisfait aux exigences de leur programme d'études.
  • Avoir complété et réussi le programme d'études et reçu une notification par écrit qu'ils sont admissibles à obtenir leur diplôme ou certificat.
  • Détenir un permis d'études valide lors de la demande du permis de travail.

Le programme d'études doit être au minimum de deux ans pour les diplômés afin d'obtenir un permis de travail de trois années. Toutefois, si le programme d'études est de moins de deux ans, mais plus de huit mois, les diplômés peuvent toujours obtenir un permis de travail pour la même durée que le programme d'études. Si un étudiant a obtenu un diplôme post-secondaire reconnu d’un programme d’études d’un an après avoir obtenu, au cours des deux années précédentes, un diplôme d’une université reconnu, l’étudiant peut être éligible pour un permis de travail de trois années.

Note: Si un étudiant remplit toutes les conditions d’éligibilité, à l’exception du critère des études à temps plein, il pourra tout de même être considéré comme éligible pour un permis de travail s’il a entamé son dernier semestre d’études. Par exemple, s’il ne manque que deux cours à un étudiant pour qu’il puisse compléter le diplôme, alors celui-ci sera éligible et pourra présenter une demande de permis de travail postdiplôme.

Pour toute question sur le permis de travail postdiplôme et découvrez comment vous pouvez travailler au Canada une fois vos études complétées, contactez-nous.

Étudier

Many international students who complete post-secondary education in Canada wish to stay and obtain Canadian work experience.

Once they have completed their studies in an eligible program at an eligible Canadian post-secondary institution, international graduates can apply for a Post-Graduation Work Permit, which allows them to work in Canada.

In its effort to retain international students, Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) operates a Post-Graduate Work Permit Program. Under this program, international graduates may obtain a three year open work permit, allowing them to work for any Canadian employer in any industry. They are not required to have a Canadian job offer at the time of application.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for a Post-Graduation Work Permit, international students must:

  • have studied full-time for the eight months preceding the completion of their program (please see note below) and must have graduated from:
    • a public post-secondary educational institution (university, college, or CEGEP); or
    • a private post-secondary educational institution that operates under the same rules and regulations as public institutions, and receives at least 50 per cent of its financing for operations from government grants; or
    • a Canadian private educational institution authorized by provincial or territorial statute to confer degrees but only if you are enrolled in one of the programs of study leading to a degree as authorized by the province and not in all programs of study offered by the private institution;

The Study Hub

Have you joined the CanadaVisa Study Hub? This exclusive portal provides international students and graduates in Canada access to:

  • A $2,500 scholarship contest
  • Personal status checker
  • Immigration notifications
  • News updates
  • Job opportunities
  • Pathways to Canadian permanent residence
  • And much more...
Don't wait, join the Study Hub today!
  • apply for a work permit within 90 days of receiving written confirmation from their academic institution that they have met the requirements of their program;
  • have completed and passed the program of study and received written notification that they are eligible to obtain their degree, diploma, or certificate; and
  • have a valid study permit when applying for the work permit.

Potential applicants should note that:

  • the program of study must be a minimum of two years for the graduate to obtain the three year work permit. However, if the program was less than two years but longer than eight months, the graduate can still obtain a work permit for the same duration as the program of study. In cases where a student has obtained a one year degree or diploma from an accredited educational institution within two years of having successfully completed a previous accredited Canadian post-secondary degree or diploma, he or she may qualify for a three-year open work permit; and
  • while a student must have been studying full time in the eight months preceding the date of application for an open work permit, an exception is made in the case where a student fulfills all the requirements except full time study in the last session of their program. For example, if a student only needs two courses in the final session to complete the program but all previous study has been full time, the student may still apply for the Post-Graduate Work Permit Program.

For more information, please consult the Post-Graduation Work Permit Frequently Asked Questions page.

For any questions about the Post-Graduation Work Permit, and to learn how you can stay and work in Canada once your studies are complete, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Latest News

  • Latest Express Entry Draw Invites 3,409 Candidates to Immigrate to Canada

    A total of 3,409 candidates have been issued an Invitation to Apply (ITA) in the first Express Entry draw to occur since recent changes to the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) were introduced on June 6, 2017. The latest draw, which took place on June 28, 2017, saw a minimum CRS score requirement of 449. Consequently, candidates in the Express Entry pool with a score of 449 or above at the time of the draw are now in a position to apply for Canadian permanent resident status.

  • Ontario Now Publishing Estimated Processing Times for Immigration Streams

    The government of Ontario, Canada's most popular destination province for newcomers, is now publishing information on estimated processing times for streams within the Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP), one of Canada's Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs). Previously, this information was not publicly available.