Les demandeurs pour de visas d'immigration doivent inclure leurs époux/conjoint de fait et enfants à charge (accompagnant ou non le demandeur) dans leurs applications.

Parfois, la situation familiale du demandeur peut changer après que l'application ait été soumise mais avant que le demandeur arrive au Canada en tant que résident permanent. Dans ce cas, on doit aviser le bureau de l’immigration canadienne de tous les changements portés à l’application. 

Les occurrences les plus communes sont les suivantes:

  • Mariage

Si un mariage a lieu après avoir soumis l'application, mais avant que le visa d'immigration a déjà été livré, le nouveau conjoint doit être inclus dans l'application et devra subir un examen médical et soumettre les documents appropriés, y compris les formulaires de demande, certificat de mariage, certificat de police et les frais gouvernementaux applicables.

Dépendant de l'étape à laquelle se trouve l'application au moment du mariage, le délai de traitement peut varier de 5 mois approximativement. De tels délais sont suscités par l’obligation d’entreprendre les examens médicaux et les examens de sécurité exigés.

Si un mariage a lieu après qu'un visa d'immigration soit livré, mais avant que le demandeur arrive au Canada en tant que résidant permanent, le visa d'immigration doit être retourné au bureau d'immigration canadienne. Une nouvelle demande d’un statut de résident permanent doit être soumise.

  • Enfants

Si le demandeur devient le parent d'un enfant durant le processus d’application, celle-ci doit être modifiée afin d’inclure cet enfant. Le nouvel enfant devra subir un examen médical et le demandeur devra soumettre les documents appropriés, y compris les papiers d'adoption ou les certificats de naissance, les frais gouvernementaux applicables ainsi qu’une demande d'inclusion en tant que personne à charge doivent être soumis au bureau d’immigration canadienne.

  • Coût

Les frais gouvernementaux applicables sont seulement payables si le membre additionnel de la famille accompagnera le demandeur au Canada. Une augmentation de fonds d’établissement sera exigée.

Applicants for Canada Immigration Visas must include their spouses/common-law partners and dependent children (whether accompanying or not) in their applications.

In some instances, an applicant's family situation may change after the application has been submitted but before the applicant has landed in Canada as a permanent resident. In all such cases, the Canadian Immigration Office must be notified.

The most common occurrences are as follows:

Marriage

If a marriage takes place after the application has been submitted, but before the Canada Immigration Visa has been issued, the new spouse must be included in the application and will have to undergo a medical examination and submit appropriate documents, including application forms, marriage certificate, police clearances and the applicable government fees.

Depending on the stage of the application at the time of the marriage, delays may vary from minimal to approximately five months. Such delays are caused by the necessary completion of medical examinations and security clearance.

If a marriage takes place after a Canada Immigration Visa has been issued, but before the applicant has landed in Canada as a permanent resident, the Canada Immigration Visa must be returned to the Canadian Immigration Office. A new Application for permanent residence in Canada must be submitted.

Children

If the applicant becomes the parent of a child during the application process, the existing application must be amended to include that child. The new child will have to undergo a medical examination and the applicant will have to submit appropriate statutory documents, including birth certificate or official adoption papers, the applicable government fees, and a request for inclusion as a dependent must be submitted to the Canadian Immigration Office.

Costs

The applicable government fees are only payable if the additional family member will be accompanying the applicant to Canada. There will also be an increase in required settlement funds.

Get Started

Latest News

  • Upfront Medicals no Longer Available for Family Class Applicants

    Upfront medical examinations are no longer available for Family Class Canadian immigration applicants and remain available only to Express Entry applicants in the permanent residence lines of business.

  • Liberals Set to Overhaul Guide for Canada’s Citizenship Exam

    A draft version of a new study guide for the Canadian Citizenship exam shows that the government plans on overhauling the book used by prospective Canadians in preparation for the exam.