Les individus présentant une demande d’immigration canadienne sous la catégorie des travailleurs qualifiés et celle des métiers spécialisés doivent prouver qu’ils ont les fonds nécessaires pour s’établir économiquement au Canada avec succès.

Les exigences concernant les fonds d’établissement ne sont pas applicables aux demandeurs qui sont déjà autorisés à travailler au Canada ou qui possèdent une offre d’emploi validée au Canada. De plus, les candidats à la catégorie de l’expérience canadienne (CEC) – un autre programme géré par le processus de sélection fédéral d’Entrée express – n’ont pas besoin de fournir de preuve démontrant qu’ils peuvent subvenir à leurs besoins et ceux des membres de leur famille.

Les demandeurs avec un/e époux/se ou conjoint/e de fait peuvent inclure l’argent qu’ils ont ensemble dans un compte en banque conjoint. Toutefois, il est important pour le/la requérant/e principal/e de fournir une preuve écrite de l’accès au compte de banque une fois qu’une invitation à présenter une demande est émise par Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC).

Les fonds d’établissement requis doivent être égaux ou supérieurs aux montants indiqués ci-dessous.

Nombre de membres de la famille Fonds requis
1 12,475 $CAN
2 15 531 $CAN
3 19, 093 $CAN
4 23, 181 $CAN
5 26, 292 $CAN
6 29 236
7 33, 014 $CAN
Pour chaque membre de la famille supplémentaire 3, 361 $CAN

Les critères des fonds d'établissement sont mis à jour annuellement. Les montants ci-dessus furent mis à jour en janvier 2018.

Qu’est ce qui est accepté en tant que preuve de fonds suffisants?

Un/e agent/e d’immigration doit être sûr/e que le demandeur puisse accéder aux fonds au moment de présenter la demande et si un visa de résidence permanente est émis. Un demandeur doit fournir une lettre officielle de la part de l’établissement financier où les fonds se trouvent.

La lettre officielle prouvant l’accès aux fonds doit inclure :

  • L’en-tête de l’établissement financier ;
  • Les coordonnées de l’établissement en question (adresse, numéro de téléphone et email) ;
  • Le nom du demandeur ;
  • La liste des dettes personnelles incluant les soldes des cartes de crédits et emprunts ; ET
  • Les détails des comptes en banque, les dates d’ouverture, ainsi que les soldes moyens pour les 6 derniers mois.

Individuals applying for Canadian immigration under the Federal Skilled Worker and Federal Skilled Trades Classes are required to show proof of funds to demonstrate that they can economically establish themselves in Canada. 

The requirement for settlement funds is waived if the applicant is currently authorized to work in Canada or has arranged employment in Canada. Also, candidates under the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) — another program managed by the federal Express Entry selection system — are not required to show proof of funds to support themselves or their family members. 

Applicants with an accompanying spouse or common-law partner can include the money they have together under a joint bank account. It is important, however, for an applicant to provide written proof that he or she has access to the money once an Express Entry Invitation To Apply (ITA) is issued by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC).

The required settlement funds must be equal to or greater than the sums listed below for each family size.

Number of family members Funds required (CAD)
1 $12,475
2 $15,531
3 $19,093
4 $23,181
5 $26,292
6 $29,652
7 $33,014
For each additional family member $3,361

Please note that the requirements for settlement funds are updated annually. The figures above were updated in January 2018.

What is accepted as proof of funds

An immigration officer must be satisfied that the applicant has access to the funds at the time of applying and if a permanent resident visa is issued. An applicant must provide official letters from the financial institution where his or her money is kept.

The official letter to prove access to funds must include the following:

  • financial institution's letterhead;
  • financial institution's contact information (address, telephone number and email address);
  • applicant's name;
  • list of outstanding debts, such as credit card debts and loans; and
  • bank account(s) details, such as account numbers, date of opening, current balance(s), average balance(s) for the past six months.

Tools and Resources

Latest News

  • Manitoba invited more than 400 skilled workers to apply for a provincial nomination

    The Government of Manitoba has issued a total of 469 invitations to apply for a provincial nomination for permanent residence to candidates in its Skilled Workers in Manitoba and Skilled Workers Overseas immigration streams on November 8.

  • British Columbia invites more tech-specialized skilled workers and graduates

    New invitations to apply for a provincial nomination went out to eligible British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BC PNP) Tech Pilot immigration candidates on November 7.