Chaque personne a droit à la protection si elle est persécutée.

Le Canada a reconnu ce droit fondamental depuis 1951 lorsqu’il a signé la Convention relative au statut des réfugiés (Convention de Genève). Le droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de la personne est également consacré dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

La détermination du statut de réfugié

Pour bénéficier de l'asile au Canada en tant que réfugié, une personne doit être en dehors de son pays d'origine et avoir une crainte fondée de persécution. Selon la Convention de Genève, la peur ne doit pas seulement être fondée mais elle doit l’être pour des raisons raciales, de nationalité, d'appartenance à un groupe social particulier ou d’une opinion politique. Cependant, une interprétation moins restrictive de la crainte de persécution peut également conduire au statut de réfugié. Par exemple, le Canada reconnaît que les femmes peuvent être persécutées en raison de leur sexe et que la définition d'un réfugié devrait être interprétée comme incluant également cette forme de persécution. Une variété de circonstances peuvent mener à la reconnaissance du statut de réfugié. Certains exemples peuvent être trouvés ici.

Le fait de reconnaître le statut de réfugié au Canada à l'extérieur du pays est considéré comme étant un rétablissement. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) rétablit les personnes et les familles en fonction des références du Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR), d'autres organisations de référence, et des groupes de parrainage privés.

La procédure de demande du statut de réfugié

Le Canada a l’obligation de protéger les réfugiés en ne les renvoyant pas à la persécution. Les personnes qui viennent au Canada par eux-mêmes peuvent demander l'asile à tout point de la frontière, ou à l'intérieur du Canada, à un bureau des visas de l'immigration canadienne. En savoir plus sur le processus de demande du statut de réfugié.

Les demandes d'asile sont complexes et il y a toujours des enjeux importants en cause. Il est recommandé pour les personnes cherchant à se prévaloir de ce statut d'être représentées par un avocat compétent ayant une expertise dans ce domaine particulier de la loi.

Les délais de traitement des demandes de réfugiés varient d’un bureau d’immigration à un autre :

Pour plus d’informations sur le statut de réfugié au Canada, consultez notre FAQ sur le statut de réfugié.

Every person is entitled to protection from persecution.

Canada has recognized this basic human right since 1951 when it signed the Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (the Geneva Convention). The right to life, liberty and security of the person is also enshrined in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

 

Refugee Determination

To be granted asylum in Canada as a refugee, a person must be outside his or her home country and have a well-founded fear of persecution. According to the Geneva Convention, the fear must not only be well-founded, the persecution must also be based on reasons of race, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion. However, a less restrictive interpretation of the feared persecution may also lead to refugee status. For example, Canada recognizes that women can be persecuted because of their gender and that the definition of a refugee should be interpreted to also include this form of persecution. A variety of circumstances can make a person a refugee. Some examples can be found here.

Bringing refugees to Canada from outside the country is known as resettlement. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC, formerly CIC) resettles individuals and families based on referrals from the United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR), other referral organizations, and private sponsorship groups.

 

Refugee Claim Process

Canada has obliged itself to protect genuine refugees, that is, not to send them back to persecution. People who get to Canada on their own can claim refugee protection at any border point, or inside Canada, at a Canadian Immigration Visa Office. Read about the refugee application process.

Refugee claims are complex and there is always a lot at stake. It is always advisable for people seeking refugee protection to be represented by a competent Canadian attorney with expertise in this particular area of the law.

Refugee Status application processing times vary from one Canadian Immigration Visa office to another:

 

For more information about refugee status in Canada, please consult our Refugee Status FAQ.

Get Started

Latest News

  • Montreal Board of Trade Calls For Increased Immigration to Quebec

    The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal has called on the government of Quebec to increase the overall annual intake of immigrants to the province, from around 50,000 to 60,000. The recommendations were presented yesterday to the Committee on Citizen Relations as part of consultations on immigration planning in Quebec for the period 2017-2019.

  • 1,500 US Boaters Accidentally Float to Canada During Windy Port Huron 'Float Down'

    Canadian authorities in Sarnia, Ontario had some unexpected guests on Sunday, August 21, after approximately 1,500 US residents accidentally floated to Canada during the Port Huron Float Down, an annual event on the St.Clair river that divides the US state of Michigan from Ontario. The trespassing flotilla of dinghies, inner tubes and rafts was no match for strong winds that whipped up throughout the afternoon.