Depending on your country of citizenship, the length of your stay in Canada, and/or your intended occupation in Canada, you may need to undergo a medical examination prior to your departure to Canada.

If you plan to visit for six months or less:
You generally do not require a medical exam, unless you plan to work in certain occupations (see below).

If you plan to visit for more than six months:
You will need a medical exam if you:

  • have lived temporarily for six or more consecutive months
    • in one or more of the countries or territories listed as 'YES' below in the one year immediately before the date you want to enter Canada. (This applies even if you are a citizen of a country that does not need a visa to enter Canada.) OR
  • will come to Canada to work in an occupation in which public health must be protected. See below for jobs for which you need a medical exam. OR
  • apply for a Parent And Grandparent Super Visa.

individuals working in certain occupations are required to undergo a medical exam, regardless of the length of time they intend to stay in Canada. This list of occupations includes:

  • workers in the health sciences field,
  • clinical laboratory workers,
  • patient attendants in nursing and geriatric homes,
  • medical students admitted to Canada to attend university,
  • medical electives and physicians on short-term locums,
  • teachers of primary or secondary schools, teachers of small children
  • domestics,
  • workers who give in-home care to children, the elderly and the disabled,
  • day nursery employees, and
  • other similar jobs.


Country Checklist: Medical Examination Required

Individuals who have lived temporarily for six or more consecutive months within the past year in one or more of the countries or territories listed as 'YES' below must undergo a medical examination in order to be granted entry to Canada.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Country Medical Required?
Afghanistan YES
Albania NO
Algeria YES
American Samoa NO
Andorra NO
Angola YES
Anguilla NO
Antigua & Barbuda NO
Argentina NO
Armenia YES
Ascension NO
Australia NO
Austria NO
Azerbaijan YES
Azores NO
Bahamas NO
Bahrain NO
Bangladesh YES
Barbados NO
Belarus YES
Belau – Republic of YES
Belgium NO
Belize NO
Benin YES
Bermuda NO
Bhutan YES
Bolivia YES
Bora Bora NO
Bosnia-Herzegovina YES
Botswana YES
Brazil YES
Brunei YES
Bulgaria NO
Burkina Faso YES
Burma (Myanmar) YES
Burundi YES
Cambodia YES
Cameroon YES
Cape Verde YES
Central African Republic YES
Chad YES
Chagos Archipelago NO
Chile NO
China YES
Colombia NO
Comoros YES
Congo, Democratic Republic YES
Congo, Republic of YES
Costa Rica NO
Croatia NO
Cuba NO
Cyprus NO
Czech Republic NO
Denmark NO
Desirade NO
Djibouti YES
Dominica NO
Dominican Republic YES
Ecuador YES
Egypt NO
El Salvador YES
Equatorial Guinea YES
Eritrea YES
Estonia NO
Ethiopia YES
Fiji YES
Finland NO
France NO
French collectivity of Wallis and Futuna NO
French Guiana NO
French Polynesia NO
Gabon YES
Gambia YES
Georgia YES
Germany NO
Ghana YES
Gibraltar NO
Greece NO
Greenland YES
Grenada NO
Guadeloupe NO
Guam YES
Guatemala YES
Guinea YES
Guyana YES
Haiti YES
Honduras YES
Hong Kong YES
Huahine NO
Hungary NO
Iceland NO
India YES
Indonesia YES
Iran NO
Iraq YES
Ireland NO
Island – Christmas NO
Island – Easter NO
Island – Lord Howe NO
Island – Niue NO
Island – Norfolk NO
Island – Pitcairn NO
Island – Truk YES
Island – Wake NO
Island – Yap YES
Islands – Admiralty YES
Islands – Austral NO
Islands – Balearic NO
Islands – British Virgin NO
Islands – Canary NO
Islands – Cayman NO
Islands – Cocos NO
Islands – Cook NO
Islands – Cooz YES
Islands – Falkland NO
Islands – Faroe NO
Islands – Gambier NO
Islands – Kerguelen NO
Islands – Loyalty NO
Islands – Marquesas NO
Islands – Marshall YES
Islands – Midway NO
Islands – New Guinea YES
Islands – Solomon YES
Islands – Tokelau NO
Islands – U.S. Trust Terr. of Pacific YES
Islands – U.S. Virgin NO
Israel NO
Italy NO
Ivory Coast YES
Jamaica NO
Japan NO
Johnston Atoll NO
Jordan NO
Kazakhstan YES
Kenya YES
Kiribati YES
Korea, North YES
Korea, South YES
Kosovo YES
Kosrae YES
Kuwait NO
Kyrgyzstan YES
Laos YES
Latvia YES
Lebanon NO
Lesotho YES
Liberia YES
Libya YES
Liechtenstein NO
Lithuania YES
Luxembourg NO
Macao YES
Macedonia NO
Madagascar YES
Madeira NO
Maio YES
Makatea NO
Malawi YES
Malaysia YES
Maldives YES
Mali YES
Malta NO
Martinique NO
Maupiti NO
Mauritania YES
Mauritius NO
Mexico NO
Moldova YES
Monaco NO
Mongolia YES
Montenegro NO
Montserrat NO
Moorea YES
Morocco YES
Mozambique YES
Namibia YES
Nauru YES
Nepal YES
Netherlands NO
Netherlands Antilles NO
New Britain YES
New Caledonia NO
New Guinea Mainland YES
New Hebrides YES
New Ireland YES
New Zealand NO
Nicaragua YES
Niger YES
Nigeria YES
Northern Mariana YES
Northern Sinai NO
Norway NO
Oman NO
Pakistan YES
Palau YES
Panama YES
Papua New Guinea YES
Paraguay YES
Peru YES
Philippines YES
Poland NO
Ponape YES
Portugal NO
Puerto Rico NO
Qatar YES
Raiatea NO
Reunion NO
Romania YES
Russia YES
Rwanda YES
Sabah YES
Saharawi Arab Democratic Rep. YES
San Marino NO
Sao Tome e Principe YES
Sarawak YES
Saudi Arabia NO
Senegal YES
Serbia NO
Seychelles NO
Sierra Leone YES
Singapore YES
Slovakia NO
Slovenia NO
Society Archipelago NO
Somali Republic YES
South Africa – Rep. of YES
Spain NO
Sri Lanka YES
St. Kitts & Nevis NO
St. Lucia NO
St. Martin NO
St. Pierre et Miquelon NO
St. Vincent and the Grenadines NO
Sudan YES
Surinam NO
Swaziland YES
Sweden NO
Switzerland NO
Syria NO
Tahaa NO
Tahiti NO
Taiwan YES
Tajikistan YES
Tanzania YES
Terre Australes et Antartiques NO
Thailand YES
Tibet YES
Timor-Leste YES
Togo YES
Tonga NO
Trinidad and Tobago NO
Tristan Da Cunha NO
Tuamotu Archipelago NO
Tunisia YES
Turkey NO
Turkmenistan YES
Turks and Caicos NO
Tuvalu YES
Uganda YES
Ukraine YES
United Arab Emirates NO
United Kingdom NO
United States of America NO
Uruguay NO
Uzbekistan YES
Vanuatu YES
Vatican City State NO
Venezuela NO
Vietnam YES
Wallis and Futuna YES
West Bank/Gaza NO
Western Sahara YES
Western Samoa NO
Yemen YES
Zambia YES
Zimbabwe YES

Get Started

Latest News

  • Canada opens new Visa Application Centres to assist expanding biometrics program

    The Government of Canada is opening new Visa Application Centres in various regions in preparation for December 31, when nationals from Asia, Asia Pacific and the Americas will be required to provide their biometric information (fingerprints and a photo) when applying to visit, work, study or settle in Canada.  

  • Canada to open new Visa Application Centres and services points to facilitate biometrics collection

    The Government of Canada is opening new Visa Application Centres and service points in Europe, Africa and the Middle East to support the expansion of its biometrics program.