Education - Federal Skilled Worker Program

Last updated: 30 September 2020

The Education Factor is one of the six factors under which points are awarded by Canadian Immigration Officers in determining whether a Skilled Worker/Professional applicant will be accepted or refused under the Federal Skilled Worker Class.

Education points are awarded based on an assessment of the applicant's educational credentials. For any foreign-obtained credentials, this assessment will include a determination of the equivalent to that credential if it were obtained in Canada.

Up to 25 points will be awarded to the applicant under the Education Factor on the following basis:

Level of EducationPoints (25 max)
Doctoral (PhD) level25 points
Master's level or professional degree. Occupation related to the degree must be:
  • NOC 2016 Skill Level A, and
  • licensed by a provincial regulatory body

Also, Degree program must be in one of the following academic disciplines: Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Dentistry, Podiatry, Optometry, Law, Chiropractic Medicine, or Pharmacy.

23 points
Two or more post-secondary credentials, one of which is a three-year or longer post-secondary credential22 points
Three-year or longer post-secondary credential21 points
Two-year post-secondary credential19 points
One-year post-secondary credential15 points
Secondary school/high school diploma5 points

Note: To obtain education factor points for a foreign credential, it is important to demonstrate that a foreign credential is equal to a certificate, diploma or degree from a Canadian educational institution.

Therefore, Federal Skilled Worker candidates with a foreign education must provide an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report for their foreign education to receive education points under the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS).

Learn about the next selection factor: Federal Skilled Worker Language Skills.

See the complete list of all six selection factors for the Federal Skilled Worker Program.