NOC codes: Classifying jobs in Canada

For the purposes of Canadian immigration, the National Occupational Classification (NOC) codes determine which occupations are skilled, semi-skilled, and unskilled. Immigration to Canada under one of the federal economic programs generally requires candidates to have work experience in a skilled job.

Is my job a skilled job?

Every job in Canada has a corresponding NOC code. There are five types of NOC code, three of which are deemed skilled:

  • NOC type 0 — These are management occupations.
  • NOC type A — These are professional occupations that require a university degree (bachelor’s, master’s or doctorate). Such occupations would include physicians, nurses, pharmacists, engineers, and accountants.
  • NOC type B — These are technical occupations that generally require post-secondary (i.e. post-high school) education or apprenticeship training. In some cases, on-the-job training, occupation-specific training courses, or specific work experience will suffice. Examples include trades positions such as construction contractors and pipefitters, certain sales and retail occupations, and occupations with health and safety responsibilities, such as fire fighters and police officers.

In order to determine whether your occupation is deemed a skilled occupation in Canada, we invite you to use our Occupation Skill Level Classifier. This free tool, which determines the skill level of all occupations in Canada, will quickly let you know whether your occupation is NOC type A, B, or 0.

Now that you know where the skill level classification of your job in Canada, you can determine your eligibility for Canadian immigration today with our free online assessment form.

Latest News

  • Saskatchewan issues invitations to 231 entrepreneurs

    The Government of Saskatchewan conducted a new draw for its Provincial Nominee Program's Entrepreneur Category on April 18, issuing invitations to 231 candidates in the province's Expression of Interest pool. 

  • Ontario issues 13 Invitations to Apply through its Entrepreneur Stream

    The province of Ontario has issued 13 invitations to apply under its Entrepreneur Stream.