Avec seulement 32 millions d'habitants, le pays est une nation modeste par rapport à la forte densité de population du voisin du Sud.

Il y a plus de 200 cultures distinctes au Canada. En fait, le pays est souvent défini comme une «mosaïque culturelle» ou vivent le plus de personnes venant d'horizons divers que presque n'importe ou ailleurs dans le monde. C'est un lieu d'accueil pour les immigrants qui encourage sa population à rester proche de sa culture et de ses traditions. Environ les deux cinquièmes de la population du pays proviennent d'une origine autre que britannique ou française.

En reconnaissant le multiculturalisme, le gouvernement fédéral a élaboré des politiques de multiculturalisme formalisées dans la Loi sur le multiculturalisme pour, entre autres choses, "promouvoir la compréhension et la créativité qui résultent de l'interaction entre les individus et les communautés d'origines différentes".

Bilinguisme au Canada

Il y a deux langues officielles au Canada: l'anglais et le français.

La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit la protection des deux langues et il est requis selon la loi de reconnaître, préserver et soutenir l'égalité des deux langues dans la société canadienne. Tous les services offerts par le gouvernement fédéral sont disponibles dans les deux langues et presque tous les produits vendus dans le pays ont un étiquetage et un emballage en anglais et en  français.

Le Québec est la seule province française du Canada et le Nouveau-Brunswick est la seule province officiellement bilingue du pays. La ville de Montréal, Québec, est reconnue comme la plus grande métropole de langue française hors de France. En dehors des frontières du Québec, la plupart des gens parlent l'anglais avec environ 18 pour cent des  Canadiens qui sont parfaitement bilingues.

With only 35 million people, Canada's population is modest compared to its more densely populated southern neighbour.

There are over 200 distinct cultures in Canada. The nation is often defined as a "cultural mosaic" with a greater mix of people from diverse backgrounds than almost anywhere else on Earth. Canada encourages its people to hold closely to their traditions and culture. Around two-fifths of the country's population comes from an origin other than British or French.

The Canadian government, through the Multiculturalism Act, aims to preserve and enhance multiculturalism through official policy. Among other aims, Canada strives to "promote the understanding and creativity that arise from the interaction between individuals and communities of different origins."

 

Bilingualism in Canada

There are two official languages in Canada: English and French.

Canada's Charter of Rights and Freedoms assures the protection of both languages, and the Canadian government is required by law to recognize, preserve and support the equality of both languages in Canadian society. All of the services offered by the federal government are available in both languages, and almost every product sold in the country has English and French labeling and packaging.

Quebec is Canada's only predominantly French-speaking province and New Brunswick is the only officially bilingual province in the country. The city of Montreal, Quebec, is recognized as the world's largest French-speaking metropolis outside France. Outside the borders of Quebec, most people speak English, with about 18 percent of all Canadians being fluently bilingual.

Latest News

  • British Columbia invites workers, graduates and entrepreneurs to apply for immigration

    The Government of British Columbia issued 177 new invitations to apply for a provincial nomination to skilled workers, graduates, and entrepreneurs looking to immigrate to the province in a draw that took place on June 13.

  • Saskatchewan Express Entry sub-category reaches intake cap within hours

    Saskatchewan's International Skilled Worker's Express Entry sub-category reopened for 400 new applications on June 13. The intake period was filled within hours and closed on the same day.