Depuis janvier 2015 et depuis le lancement du système de sélection Entrée Express, deux types de certificats de nomination provinciale ont été définis, à savoir la nomination « de base » et la  nomination « améliorée ».

Le rôle joué par les provinces canadiennes au sein de la politique d'immigration canadienne a considérablement changé. L'ajustement le plus significatif réside dans la façon dont une partie des programmes des candidats des provinces (PCP) sont désormais traités avec le système fédéral Entrée Express.

La nomination provinciale améliorée

La plupart des provinces et territoires canadiens peuvent sélectionner leurs propres candidats à travers le système Entrée Express pour répondre aux besoins du marché du travail local et provincial. Ces parties des PCP sont connus comme étant les nominations «améliorées».

Les candidats du bassin Entrée Express qui obtiennent une nomination d'une province se voient attribués 600 points dans le cadre du Système de Classement Global (SCG), sur un total possible de 1200. Lorsque ces points sont ajoutés aux points reliés aux facteurs de capital humain et de transférabilité des compétences, cela se traduira par une invitation à demander la résidence permanente lorsque le candidat sera tiré depuis le bassin Entrée Express.

Selon la province ou le territoire, les candidats éligibles à intégrer le bassin Entrée Express peut soit intégrer le bassin en premier et  être nommés ensuite par une province ou un territoire, ou être nominés par une province ou  territoire d’abord avant de remplir un profil Entrée Express. Dans la plupart des cas, les candidats sont tenus d'être dans le bassin avant qu’une demande de certificat de désignation provinciale améliorée ne puisse être faite.

 

La nomination provinciale de base

Les provinces et les territoires sont peuvent aussi procéder à des nominations qui relèvent de leur attributions régulières, ou «de base», en dehors même du système Entrée Express. Les nominations provinciales et territoriales faites en dehors du système Entrée Express sont soumises à des volets spécifiques des programmes et délais de traitement spécifiques. Une personne qui obtient une nomination de base d’un province ne sera pas attribuer 600 points dans le cadre du système de classement global.

Les personnes qui souhaitent immigrer au Canada, mais qui peut ne pas éligibles à entrer dans la bassin Entrée Express, peuvent encore être en mesure de faire une demande d'immigration au Canada grâce à l’un des volets des PCP réguliers, s’ils sont éligibles bien sûr.

La nomination de base peut donc offrir des possibilités d'immigration au Canada à des personnes qui ne sont pas éligibles pour Entrée Express.

Les candidats qui reçoivent une nomination de base voient leurs demandes traitées en dehors express Entrée. Le processus d’une demande de résidence permanente est un processus en deux étapes. Les candidats doivent d'abord satisfaire aux critères d'un volet d’un PCP et recevoir un certificat de nomination. Avec ce certificat en main, les candidats peuvent demander la résidence permanente auprès du gouvernement fédéral, qui sera chargé de procéder aux vérifications médicales et de sécurité nécessaires avant d'accorder le statut de résident permanent.

As of January, 2015 and the launch of the Express Entry selection system for Canadian immigration, two types of provincial nomination certificate have been defined, namely 'base' and 'enhanced' provincial nominations.

The role played by Canadian provinces within Canadian immigration policy has changed significantly. The most significant adjustment has been with respect to how a portion of the Provincial Nominee Programs (PNPs) are now aligned with the federal Express Entry system.

 

Enhanced Provincial Nomination

Most Canadian provinces and territories are able to nominate a certain number of candidates through the Express Entry system to meet local and provincial labour market needs. These portions of the PNPs are known as 'enhanced' nominations.

Candidates in the Express Entry pool who obtain a nomination from a province are awarded 600 points under the Comprehensive Ranking System, out of a possible total of 1,200. When these additional points are added to a candidate’s human capital and skills transferability points, it will result in an Invitation To Apply for permanent residence being issued to the candidate at a subsequent draw from the Express Entry pool.

Depending on the province or territory, candidates eligible to enter the Express Entry pool may either enter the pool first and then be nominated by a province or territory, or be nominated by a province or territory before completing an online Express Entry profile and entering the Express Entry pool. In most cases, candidates are required to be in the pool before an application for an enhanced provincial nomination certificate can be made.

 

Base Provincial Nomination

Provinces and territories are also able to make nominations under their regular, or 'base', PNP streams outside the Express Entry system. Provincial and territorial nominations made outside the Express Entry system are subject to particular PNP streams and processing standards. An individual who successfully obtains a base nomination from a province will not be awarded 600 points under the Comprehensive Ranking System.

Individuals who wish to immigrate to Canada, but who may not be eligible to enter the Express Entry pool, may still be able to make an application to immigrate to Canada through a base PNP stream, as long as they are eligible for the particular PNP. Base nominations may therefore provide Canadian immigration opportunities to individuals who are not eligible for Express Entry.

Candidates who receive a base nomination have their applications processed outside Express Entry. The route from a successful base nomination to permanent residence is a two-step process. Candidates must first satisfy the criteria for a PNP stream, apply, and receive a nomination certificate. With this certificate in hand, candidates may apply to the federal government, which will oversee the necessary medical and security background checks before granting permanent resident status.

Tools and Resources

Latest News

  • Fourth Express Entry Draw in November 2017 Invites 2,750 Candidates

    In the latest federal Express Entry draw, which took place on November 15, a total of 2,750 candidates with a minimum Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) score of 439 were invited to apply for Canadian permanent residence. This is the fourth Express Entry draw to take place in the month of November since Canada's Multi-Year Immigration Plan was announced by the federal government on November 1.

  • Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program Introduces Changes for 2018

    The government of Manitoba has announced changes to its provincial nominee program, some of which came into effect immediately on November 15, while other changes will come into effect in 2018.