+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working eligibility

Riman

Jul 18, 2019
Hello, hope you are doing good I have a question regarding work eligibility that I am on Academic suspension and I am taking university preparatory course and my enrolment letter says that I am a full time student so can I work legally or not. I am enrolled in a college during this suspension and a full time student

dankboi

VIP Member
Apr 19, 2021
London, United Kingdom
Category........
FSW
You and your employer must make sure you can work off campus without a work permit before you start working. If you start working off campus but don’t meet the requirements, you may have to leave Canada.
You can only start working in Canada when your study program has started. You can’t work before you start your studies.
If you’re able to work during your studies, it’ll say so in the conditions on your study permit.

Eligibility requirements
You can work off campus without a work permit if you meet all of these requirements:

• you’re a full-time student at a designated learning institution (DLI)
  • you’re enrolled in
    • a post-secondary academic, vocational or professional training program or
    • a secondary-level vocational training program (Quebec only)
  • your study program
    • is at least 6 months long and
    • leads to a degree, diploma or certificate
  • you’ve started studying
  • you have a Social Insurance Number (SIN)
If you’re a part-time student
You can work off campus only if:

• you meet all of the requirements above and
  • you’re only studying part-time, instead of full-time, because:
    • you’re in the last semester of your study program and you don’t need a full course load to complete your program and
    • you were a full-time student in your program in Canada, up until your last semester
If you’re on an authorized leave