+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Customs declaration form: Canadian resident or visitor?

barabashka

Star Member
Jan 30, 2013
Hi all,

I am a PR since July 2010, but in April 2012 I started working abroad and since then I come back to Canada every few months for 3-4 weeks.
When I fill in the declaration form, I usually was stating that I am a resident of Canada and indicating the day I left Canada last time, as well as my Canadian address were I lived before taking up the position abroad, and where my spouse still lives. I do stay at this address for these 3-4 weeks every few months when I come to see my spouse and accumulate some days in Canada toward my PR obligations.

However, last time I entered Canada the officer was not happy with me filling the declaration form this way. He said that since I spend most time of the year abroad now, I have to indicate on the form my address abroad, and should fill in the form as a visitor, not resident of Canada. He said I should fill in the form as a visitor until I come back to Canada to live permanently.
I asked if this is not going to be a contradiction to me being PR - he said no.

What do you think? Should I indeed fill in the form as a visitor and indicate my address abroad? Is it important what I indicate there?

Many thanks!

xse2573

Dec 3, 2011
Category........
Visa Office......
CPP-Ottawa
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
April 2012
Doc's Request.
July 2013
Nomination.....
March 2012
AOR Received.
June 2012
Med's Request
June 2012
Med's Done....
June 2012
Interview........
Waived
Passport Req..
August 2013
VISA ISSUED...
August 2013
LANDED..........
September 2013
barabashka said:
Hi all,

I am a PR since July 2010, but in April 2012 I started working abroad and since then I am coming back to Canada every few months for 3-4 weeks.