+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

US to Canada w/expired PR card

ExpatProf

Apr 3, 2016
I am a professor at a Canadian University and reside in Montreal permanently. I am also a US citizen with a valid passport. I have a Canadian PR card, but it expired about a week ago. I applied ("urgently") to renew my PR card, but I suspect I will not receive it before I have to go to a 3 day professional conference in Chicago next weekend.

I understand there are new restrictions on entering Canada (ETA system), but that US citizens are exempt.

My question is:

1) Can I risk flying back to Canada from Chicago? This means assuming the airlines will let me on board with just US passport and no inquiries re my PR status, and then once I'm in Montreal airport, I explain my situation with the expired PR card to the border agents and perhaps have an interview and show them a copy of the application that's in process, a letter from my university, and anything else proving my good standing.

2) Should I better change my flight to go Chicago to Burlington, VT, and then drive across the border? This means more work and more money, and the same conversation with the border guard, who could in theory make an issue about my expired card, even though it's in process and I'm a US citizen residing full-time in Canada.

Very grateful for any advice!

Thanks,
ExpatProf

dpenabill

VIP Member
Apr 2, 2010
ExpatProf said:
I am a professor at a Canadian University and reside in Montreal permanently. I am also a US citizen with a valid passport. I have a Canadian PR card, but it expired about a week ago. I applied ("urgently") to renew my PR card, but I suspect I will not receive it before I have to go to a 3 day professional conference in Chicago next weekend.

I understand there are new restrictions on entering Canada (ETA system), but that US citizens are exempt.

My question is: