+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

TRV and Express Entry - What to do?

AnneCordelia

Nov 21, 2014
Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum, so I apologize if there are existing threads related to my questions. I haven't been able to find any relevant information online regarding this particular case so I would appreciate the input of the most seasoned members of this forum. I am a 23-year-old citizen and resident of the Dominican Republic and have never applied for a TRV. I would like to visit New York next year (around March or April) and enrol in a 3-month course at a recognized art school and subsequently take a train to Toronto to take the IELTS as well as to explore the city, since I've never been there before. My questions are:

(1) Does it qualify as dual intent if I want to obtain a TRV for a short visit (meaning I will most definitely be going back home, as I have no intention of overstaying or violating my status and I also have plenty of ties to my home country) and —once I have my IELTS scores, my education accredited and all other required documents in order— express interest in going to Canada by creating an Express Entry profile?

(2) Do I need to tell the IO about my plans even though I do want to visit Canada temporarily (and quite briefly) and apply to the program from my country of citizenship? Would they find it shady regardless of whatever proof I may present of my intention to go back to DR?

(3) In addition, does my having a renewed 10-year US visa and having had a 6-month Schengen and a 6-month UK visa issued in 2006 help my credibility? DR citizens need visas to enter almost any country and I believe having several visas issued under your name usually means you are a reliable person.