+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Spouse Sponsorship Visa- Japanese Family Register

O-in-Kyoto

Oct 28, 2009
Hello,
This is my first time posting on the forum. So far it has helped me quite a bit and for that I'd like to says thank you.
There is of course one question that I'd like to ask. It is specifically for those who have knowledge about Japan- Canada Immigration. I am sponsoring my Japanese wife. We did our marriage paperwork in Japan so we are officially married in Japan. We are aware that we need to provide translated documentation of our marriage. However, we believe we also must submit the Japanese Family Register.

(7. IDENTITY AND CIVIL STATUS DOCUMENTS
A marriage certificate, birth certificate, Family Register or certified official copy and a translation of
your unaltered "Koseki Tohon" and "Kaiseigen Koseki Tohon" (all names in the register, even
the ones that have been removed due to death, marriage, change of residence, etc) including
details of your birth, marriage and divorce (if any) must be submitted. All names of your family
members, even the ones that have been removed due to death, marriage, change of residence,
etc., must be included. The translation should be in English or French and done by a certified
translator.)

Question
1. The Family Register translation must be done by a certified translator. However, my wife has read somewhere that this must be notarized. According to her source (in Japanese), the translator had to bring the translated document to the Embassy in Tokyo to be notarized. Could this true? What is the proper procedure for dealing with Family Register documentation?

KL8N

Oct 23, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..