+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Preparing for a 6 month stay in Canada.. What to say at the border?

ajwhite

Jan 28, 2014
So I'm in a bit of a tricky situation when it comes to providing proof that I have ties to the US that will bring me back after my allowed 6 months and not stay in Canada illegally.

- I am a software engineer who works remotely, so I do not have a physical location I have to report to
- My lease on my apartment ends this month, so my only place of residence back in the US is at my parents
- My phone bill is part of a family plan

When it comes to assets or financials in my name, all I can think of is
- Active car loan
- Car insurance
- Bank accounts

Do you think I will have trouble getting approved for 6 months?

I don't plan on bringing anything with me except for my clothes. I would like to bring my desktop so I can work on that rather than my laptop, but would this appear to make it look as if I'm packing for a permanent move?

Another goal in this trip is for my partner and I to work towards being Common-Law partners, which requires 12 consecutive months living together.. I don't think I can say this at the border, because technically I'm only allowed 6 months, plus an extension.

Worse comes to worst, they won't tell me to just go home based on this right? I can atleast get to visit for a few weeks or so?

What would you recommend to get through the border (US->CA) without financial/property ties to the US for a 6 month stay

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Actually the worst case scenario is a one year exclusion order (i.e. a one year ban from entering Canada). However these don't happen very often.