+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Help to fill IMM5524E(PRTD) -- I received my COPR, I did not spent even a day in Canada

Ruban Karthik

Sep 6, 2021
Hello Everyone,

I had applied for PR CEC-inland and received COPR today. I am a temporary resident of Canada on work permit. I came back for a vacation before COVID-19 but could not return back to Canada because of travel restrictions. My work permit has been expired and I received my COPR. In order to travel back to Canada, I need a permanent resident travel document.

There is a requirement to prove the residency obligation but I have not spent even a day in Canada after getting COPR. What should I fill in IMM5524E form in following points?

15 - Time spent in Canada - This is for the time I spent in Canada since I became PR but I have not spent a day. should I leave this blank??
19- Humanitarian and Compassionate Grounds - Should I leave this blank or should provide some explanation that why I am out of Canada?

To prove my temporary residance in Canada I have many documents, eg. bank statement, CRA notice of assessment, Mobile Bill, Gas bill. Should I submit these with my PRTD application?

Thanks in advance for the guidance.

Thanks
Sumit
Hi Sumit,
I am in exact same situation as of yours. Can you please let me know what did you fill for those questions 15&19.
I was in Canada for five years but I haven't stayed in Canada for a single day after I received my CoPR.
Thanks in advance.

sumitkamboj88

Star Member
Jun 15, 2019
Hi Sumit,
I am in exact same situation as of yours. Can you please let me know what did you fill for those questions 15&19.
I was in Canada for five years but I haven't stayed in Canada for a single day after I received my CoPR.
Thanks in advance.
Hi, I left it blank and added an explanation letter and got approved.

bricks711

Jul 10, 2020
hi