+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Can I travel and come back if I have valid status but finish the school?

DarkMann

Jan 27, 2014
Hey guys,

I am a masters student, recently I got my new study permit will expire at the end of November. But I will finish my study within one month and I have to travel on August. The question is can I travel and come back using the study permit? Or I have to apply on post graduate work permit.

Thanks a lot .

Wolfpmd3

Champion Member
Apr 26, 2015
Canada
NOC Code......
Of course open work permit...

If you go out but come back you wont be allowed to enter at the port of entry since the officer will know you have graduated and will make no sense for him you coming back with out a work permit even after completing your degree.

You will be able to travel since you have a valid visa... but wont be able to stay

jubear

May 1, 2015
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hello DarkMann,

Consider this:

1. Get a confirmation letter from your university stating that you have successfully graduated.
2. Ensure that you apply to attend your convocation ceremony at your designated university.
3. Pay fees for your regalia (keep receipts).

If you've already done the above, don't assume that you will be allowed to return to Canada. Therefore, to be on a safe side:

4. Apply for a TRV as quickly as possible. Why?

Because if you are a temporary resident in Canada with valid status (e.g. a valid SP or WP), you can apply for a new temporary resident visa to return to Canada before you leave.

You can apply in Canada if:

1. You are a legally admitted student or foreign worker

2. You are in Canada with a Canadian residential address, and that
a) your current temporary resident status is still valid, and your existing visa counterfoil is expired or was valid for only one entry, and
b) you need a new temporary resident visa to return to Canada in the near future.