Med's Done....
19-06-2012
Interview........
waived
Passport Req..
none
VISA ISSUED...
15-07-2013
I'm going to start out by asking you all to please not lecture me; I've gotten enough of that already!

I am a permanent resident in Alberta. I came here through family class after my husband and I got married.

We are in a poly-amorous relationship and plan on having a commitment ceremony in a couple of weeks with another man, who lives in Florida.

The question is this: How, if at all, can we get him up here? He has a masters degree in library and information sciences and has been looking at getting a job here in Edmonton in that field. He also is willing to go back to school, though he already has outstanding student loans.

Any advice would be so useful. I am about ready to start pulling my hair out.

Lammawitch

Champion Member
Dec 21, 2014
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
He can come to canada as a visitor for the commitment ceremony. If he's is an American citizen, he doesn't need a visa.

If he want to live & work in Canada, he needs to find an employer willing to go through the LMIA process to get him a temporary workers permit (or find an LMIA exempt job), or he needs to see whether he's eiligible for PR through express entry, or PNP, and apply.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
He needs to qualify to immigrate on his own. Your relationship with him won't benefit him in any way and you cannot sponsor him. Or he needs to obtain a work permit on his own. Regardless, it's something he will have to qualify for independently.

Detailed information about Canada's immigration programs can be found here: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/index.asp