+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Funding Education

Volly

Dec 15, 2022
Hello,
I am an international student from Nigeria, currently a second-year undergraduate at an Ontario university.
When I was processing my admission and study permit in 2022, my family could just afford my tuition and living expenses based on the exchange rate then. However, the exchange rate from NGN to CAD has since quadrupled due to new government policies (currently about 1 CAD to 1200 NGN).

I am looking for suggestions for ways to finance my education. I am doing very well in my studies and even with a partial scholarship, I currently owe more than 20000 CAD to pay by April. As a full-time student, there are no part-time jobs that pay enough based on my available after-school hours and loans I have seen advertised have unaffordable interest rates.

Any suggestions or similar experiences would be appreciated.

Shmiler

Star Member
Oct 19, 2020
Does the university offer payment plans? Have you spoken to them directly to find out what sort of support they can offer? If not, then that would be my first port of call.

Reactions: Naturgrl

Naturgrl

VIP Member
Apr 5, 2020
Agree talk to your university about options. There is no way to not pay and continue studies. You also need to talk to your parents on how you are going to pay tuition now and for the next few years. Research different loans too.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017