+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Working before Implied Status

cappyoh

Star Member
May 23, 2019
My situation is, i graduated college end of April 2018, and started working full time May 22 2018.

I was waiting for my completion letter from the school so i couldnt apply for PGWP until June 19 2018 (there was a huge delay on that)

So i was technically working full-time without authorization for almost a month (i was only allowed to work part time, which i wasnt aware of until now)

Now im about to apply for my PR, and worried how I should approach it

Should i not declare it ( since i'm not claiming points for it)? or should i write an explanation letter to the officer?

Please help, thank you!

jes_ON

VIP Member
Jun 22, 2009
Category........
Visa Office......
New York
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
06-May-2010
AOR Received.
13-Aug-2010
File Transfer...
01-Mar-2011
Passport Req..
30-Jun-2011
VISA ISSUED...
12-Jul-2011 (received 25-Jul-2011)
LANDED..........
03-Sep-2011
My situation is, i graduated college end of April 2018, and started working full time May 22 2018.

I was waiting for my completion letter from the school so i couldnt apply for PGWP until June 19 2018 (there was a huge delay on that)

I really don't understand this, even though I have seen others discuss this as well. How can you receive notice of eligibility to graduate AFTER you have graduated? There should be some letter BEFORE you graduate. IRCC changed from requiring (as proof of graduation) the degree/diploma, because so many had to wait several months to attend their convocation and receive their degree/diploma (meaning, the letter would come BEFORE graduation). Now people are supposedly graduating before being approved for graduation. I don't get it. :)