+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

WORK VISA based on LMIA expired.....valid for express entry?

footdoc

Jan 8, 2015
Hello

I have been working in Canada since Nov 2013, an LMIA was issued for the VISA.

I am now submitting to express entry... even though the LMIA for my visa expired is it still valid? I am continuing in the same work position plus after after I gain PR.
Do I need a fresh LMIA?
Confused!

Hope you can help or direct me to the correct information.

Intocanada

Mar 18, 2014
footdoc said:
Hello

I am now submitting to express entry... even though the LMIA for my visa expired is it still valid? I am continuing in the same work position plus after after I gain PR.
Do I need a fresh LMIA?
Confused!

No. you don't need a fresh LMIA.
If your present work permit is issued based on the LMIA back in Nov 2013, you are good to get 600 points. I guess, the LMIA expiry date you are taking about is LMIA/LMO opinion expiry date.

Source :
http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/department/media/notices/2014-12-01.asp#15

15. Can an employer who currently employs a temporary foreign worker (TFW) use Express Entry to support their application for permanent residence?

Yes. As long as the TFW is in Canada working under a positive Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA), you can offer them a permanent job to support their application for permanent residence. Your TFW would have to create an Express Entry profile and include their job offer information. A job offer supported by an LMIA will give a candidate enough additional points and be ranked high enough to be invited to apply at the next eligible round of invitations.