+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Work Permit Expiring - Getting Married in 2 mos.

whiteapple

Star Member
Jun 4, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi!

I currently have a post graduation work permit and I found out that my employer has to sponsor me so I can extend my work permit. However, knowing my employer, she won't. My boyfriend and I decided to get married next month instead...

1. Can I stay and continue working here even if my temporary resident visa and work permit will be expiring on October?

2. I currently work as an education system which classified as a Level C occupation. Is it possible for me to extend my work permit then?

3. How long is the process for sponsorship?

please help!

thanks!

I

iarblue

If you are getting married in one month,when do you plan on starting the sponsorship app?If you are doing the app right after you marry ,before October...you can include another app for a workers permit.If the app is in before october,once it is in he will have implied status,and if approved to sponsor his new work permit will come with the first stage approval.
Timing is everything.

whiteapple

Star Member
Jun 4, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
we plan on starting the sponsorship papers asap! how long does it usually take? did i understand it correct that as long as the sponsorship papers have been submitted, i can stay and continue working here?

I

iarblue

Yes if you send in the app before your current permit expires and add the app for the workers permit you will be under implied status,and for how long it takes for an inland app could be 9 months.Depending on the app,police clearences,etc.

whiteapple

Star Member
Jun 4, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
is it guaranteed that i will get a workers permit? how long is the process for the workers permit? is it ok even if my work is classified under a Level C?

I

iarblue