+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Work Experience Question for FSW EE.

sgtch

Feb 9, 2017
Hello friends,
I have been reading this informative forum for the past couple of months and recently joined as a member, since I am preparing to apply for EE under FSW stream. I am an Indian citizen based out of USA. I completed my PhD here, and now working full time in Silicon Valley. My questions are related to how work experience is calculated while creating EE profile. I will be greatly obliged if some of the knowledgeable members of the forum can answer, or point to other threads where the questions might have been asked and answered. I apologize in advance if some of the questions seem naive, since I am quite new to the EE topic.

Summary of my work experience: I worked for 16 months as a TA and 24 months as an RA, working 20 hours per week, during the course of my PhD in US. I will complete 12 months of work experience as a full time data scientist on June 13, 2017, after which I intend to create my profile.
My questions are listed below:

1. Does CIC only offer points based on full years work ex (like 1 year, 2 year 3 or more years etc)? Or does months contribute as well?
2. Is 1 year work ex calculated as 52 weeks; with 30 hours work per week?
3. Assuming 2. is true, I calculated my total work experience as: ((16+24)*(2/3) + 12*(4/3))/12 > 3 years work ex. Is that correct? Or will my TA and RA work ex not be counted (since they were less than 30 hours work ) and full time work ex be calculated only as 1 full year?
4. How exactly is work ex entered in EE profile? Is it start and end date of a job and number of work hours per week? And does it matter I am considering three different jobs (TA, RA and Data Scientist, although TA and RA seems to fall under the same NOC code)?