+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Used my country passport to travel for education

adil22

Mar 7, 2024
Hello guys,
Firstly, appreciate your comments and help in Advance. We were granted PR as protected people on May 2023 mainly because my father used to work in Pre-Taliban government in Afghanistan and now that the Taliban rules the country, our case was based on fear or prosecution. At that time of the case, we (excluding my dad) were already in Turkey for like three years and I was a student at a university. When we came to Canada, my education was left incomplete and I did not want to start from the scratch here( I study software engineering). I went back to Turkey on August to continue my education. Came back on January to perform Internship here and have to go back to Turkey on May for my last two semesters. I did not know that I had to use Travel document for travel. Now, I am not sure if I apply for Travel document, will it come in two months or not? Also, what if my application for travel document causes the officers to file for a cessation or something? And if we are not supposed to use our passports, then when we arrived, why did the officers in Airport, got our passports, stamped them and gave them back to us directly. Should not have them kept them to show we cannot use them? They did not even say anything about the passports

I am really worried and confused. Should I apply for travel document but then will I get it in two months or not? Or If I continue using my Afghan passport, then what?
Note: the main applicant in our refugee case is my father, not me and it was a privately sponsored case.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hello guys,