+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Travelling to India and back with Indian passport having 1 month validity

RV_13

Star Member
Jun 24, 2012
Hi Friends,

I am a Permanent Resident of Canada with an active PR card and I also hold an Indian passport. Now my Indian Passport is expiring in mid- Feb 2017 and i need to travel to India in mid-Jan 2017 and returning by Feb end before the passport expires. It leaves me no time to re-issue my passport before travel.
My questions are:
Would i be able to enter India as the passport would still be vaild when i am travelling?
While returning, would there be a problem entering Canada? I thought having a valid PR card would be good enough.

I would take the direct flight both ways so that i dont transit thru any other countries.

Please advise.

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

RV_13 said:
Hi Friends,

I am a Permanent Resident of Canada with an active PR card and I also hold an Indian passport. Now my Indian Passport is expiring in mid- Feb 2017 and i need to travel to India in mid-Jan 2017 and returning by Feb end before the passport expires. It leaves me no time to re-issue my passport before travel.
My questions are:
Would i be able to enter India as the passport would still be vaild when i am travelling?
While returning, would there be a problem entering Canada? I thought having a valid PR card would be good enough.

I would take the direct flight both ways so that i dont transit thru any other countries.

Please advise.
1. You will require a valid passport to re-enter Canada, without it the airline won't let you board.

RV_13

Star Member
Jun 24, 2012
PMM said:
Hi

1. You will require a valid passport to re-enter Canada, without it the airline won't let you board.
Thanks for replying.