+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

The two week processing for working permit (postdoc)

casliupeng

Sep 15, 2017
Hello, I have lived in the US as a J1 visa and will move to University of Alberta as a postdoc, I read a website that maybe I can benefits from the two week processing for working permit. The link for the explanation is: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/employers/gss.asp
My current offer letter gives me 1 year position. Through the web link above, I do can enjoy the two week processing, however, when I did the questionnaire, when I want to answer following question:

Do you plan to work in one of the following categories?Athletes and coachesAviation accident or incident investigatorsBusiness visitorsCivil aviation inspectorsClergyConvention organizersCrew membersEmergency service providersExaminers and evaluatorsExpert witnesses or investigatorsFamily members of foreign representativesForeign government officersForeign representativesHealth-care students Highly-skilled workers and researchers (Global Skills Strategy)Judges, referees and similar officialsMilitary personnelNews reporters, film and media crewsPerforming artistsPublic speakers

I want to choose Global Skills Strategy, however, the explanation of Global Skills Strategy is:
Eligibility for researchers
You will come to Canada as a researcher:
• at a public degree-granting institution or affiliated research institution
• who will work for 120 or fewer consecutive days
• who has not worked in Canada under this exemption in the last 12 months

This seems a contradiction which rather confuses me. My supervisor asked the immigration department in our university, they do say that I can enjoy two-week processing.
My question is: How can I enjoy the two-week processing? It seems that there is no option to let me select.
Should I also choose the Global Skills Strategy? Thanks.

Who is eligible for two-week processing