+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

T1 help: emigrated from Canada in 2020

bastiaandg

Star Member
Oct 3, 2017
Hi guys,

Last year I've moved back to my home country due to COVID. That means I would have been a non-resident for the second half of the year, but I was a resident in Canada for the first half.

According to the CRA site, I should fill out the income package for BC (where I was) and then provide the date I ceased to be a resident for tax purposes. I should not fill out the income package for non-residents, as that's for people who were a non-resident the entire year.
So far so good, just filling out the normal package (and calculating the credits etc).

However, on the first page, how do I fill that in? There is no Country box for mailing address (which is now a Dutch one) and under "Information about your residence" it says: "Enter your province or territory of residence on December 31, 2020:". Which would have been BC for tax purposes until July, but The Netherlands afterwards. Do I just fill in "Other" here and then indicate the date I ceased to be a resident below.
And what do I do with my mailing address? Do I use my last known Canadian one? I can't receive any mail there anymore and I've already changed my address in MyCRA to my Dutch one, but I can't enter any country here on the T1 form. So I can't enter my Dutch one?

Hope someone here can help me!

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Assume you have checked with CRA that you are a non-resident for tac purposes even though you moved. Just moving to another country does not mean you are a non-resident for tax purposes. Things like property, bank/investing accounts, immediate family, etc. are some of the reasons you may remain a tax resident. Establishing that you are actually a non-resident would be the first thing to do. CRA will determine this. Did you receive support like CERB from the government? Did you receive any money from the Canadian government after leaving?