+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Study permit during PR processing

Ultimategrey

Apr 27, 2021
Hi,

I got an invitation for my PR as Express entry steam on January. When I got an invitation, my score was 461 and the minimum score on the day was 454. And I submitted my application on March 9th. Also, I got AOR on March 10th. Currently, I am in Canada and working with closed work permit.

About 2 weeks ago, I got a Master program admission letter from university. But currently, with my visa which is closed work permit, I am not able to study as a full time student. For this reason, I need to apply study permit to start studying in September. I already found that I can apply the study permit during PR processing. But the problem is that if I apply the study permit and change my status with the study permit, I need to quit my job and my express entry score will decrease 50 points of arranged employment (LMIA 50 points). And this score is lower than the minimum score on the day I was invited (454). Therefore, I think it will impact negatively on my PR processing (Rejected or delayed). Of course, if I got Confirmation of Permanent Resident (COPR) before September, it won't be a problem. However, what if I won't get COPR before September, I need to have a study permit to go school. I really want to go school in coming Fall semester.

Please let me know you guys' opinions about my situation and give me advice.

Thank you.

Last edited:

Simba112

VIP Member
Mar 25, 2021
Hi,

I got an invitation for my PR as Express entry steam on January. When I got an invitation, my score was 461 and the minimum score on the day was 454. And I submitted my application on March 9th. Also, I got AOR on March 10th. Currently, I am in Canada and working with closed work permit.