+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Student Visa (Understanding CIAPS Notes) HELP!

viraldpatel

Apr 25, 2019
I have been refused twice before under the grounds that I cannot satisfy the officer I will return to the country of my citizenship due to my immigration status. I have reapplied, this time, with legal help from an immigration attorney.

I have been accepted into The University of Toronto. I am a resident of The United States under the DACA status, and hold a citizenship to Kenya.

In my CIAPS notes, the officer stated;

"Seeking entry for Bachelor of Arts at the University of Toronto. No previous studies declared. PA declares that he has been a *****. No other employment declared. PA states he is currently in the US as a DACA Applicant and has been in the US since 2004. No evidence submitted to support that PA is a beneficiary of DACA. In a letter from the PA, he states that he intends to forfeit his DACA status in the US to study in Canada, and that he intends to return to Kenya upon completion of his studies. He also states that his parents, who have been in the US since 2004, intend to move back to Kenya in 2021. Considering economic conditions and employment prospects in the applicant's home country, and taking into account factors including the purpose of travel, academic and travel history, economic establishment and family ties, I am not satisfied that the applicant would respect the terms of admission as a student in Canada. Refused."

What does this mean? Am I inadmissible? Is there hope for my visa? What can I provide to strengthen my case?

bongoman

VIP Member
Dec 3, 2014
Inadmissible is a specific technical term in regards to Canadian immigration so you are not inadmissible but highly unlikely to receive a Canadian visa of any kind, you simply have no ties to Kenya.

viraldpatel

Apr 25, 2019