+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Sponsoring Sister

Mrs.smith

Aug 8, 2012
Hi to all,

I am a permanent resident living in Ontario. I arrived in Canada last October of 2010, sponsored by my Canadian husband. I am currently in college and at the same time working part-time at a fast food restaurant, approximately 25 hrs a week for a year now. I am just finishing my second semester and expecting to be done by April of 2013..

Now, a surprise came up. I am pregnant. About 4-5 weeks old. I will be needing help when I give birth for me to finish school and also for me to work full time later, in relation to my current program. I would want my sister, 22 years old, to come over so she can help me take care of the baby. My husband works full time in the government. It will be hard for us if I don't work, that's why we would really want my sister to come over to help us. Would it be possible to sponsor my sister? in what way? visitor's visa? family class? or worker's permit?..if any of the options is possible, how long the process would take? and what are the requirements?

I am hoping that someone here could answer my questions. Especially those who have already sponsored this siblings.

Another option for us is to have my mother coming over. I know this is easier than sponsoring my sister, but the whole family's preference is to have my sister instead of my mother, since she is very fan of Pinas and has very low tolerance of cold. Another reason is that she would not want to leave my dad or my baby nephews because they are her life. She said if it's not possible for my sister to be sponsored, she will do it for me. She will come to help me although that is not her preference. If I sponsor my mom, what's the best way for her to come over soonest possible? Permanent resident or supervisa? what are the requirements? how long is the process?

Thanking in advance for those who can answer my questions.

Mrs. Smith

parker24

VIP Member
Nov 26, 2011