+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

SINP Confusion - Computer Science Engineer Allowed?

DishaPatel05

Sep 12, 2020
Hi,

I saw a ray of hope when I learnt SINP allows Computer Programmers (NOC Code - 2174). In the description of in-demand lists, it is mentioned:

"Computer Science engineering programs will not be considered."

Check this link for reference - https://www.saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/immigrating-to-saskatchewan/saskatchewan-immigrant-nominee-program/applicants-international-skilled-workers/sinp-in-demand-occupation-list

But, when I search the NOC database for 2174, it doesn't exclude engineering programs. It just says, "A bachelor's degree in computer science or in another discipline with a significant programming component or completion of a college program in computer science is usually required".

My B.Tech is in Computer Science and Engineering (4 years program) and I am currently a software developer (although by designation I am "Assistant Project Manager" as I have spent over 10 years in this industry).

So, am I eligible under SINP? The statement - "Computer Science engineering programs will not be considered." in throwing me off and I am very confused.

Thanks!
I am on same boat...have you got any confirmation.?

DishaPatel05

Sep 12, 2020
Same here, in great confusion.

I have applied for NOC 2174 and I have Computer Engineering degree [Not Computer Science Degree, I searched on the internet and come to know that there is subtle difference between computer science and computer engineering ], Not sure if I am eligible for NOC-2174 or not as per below link.

https://www.saskatchewan.ca/residents/moving-to-saskatchewan/immigrating-to-saskatchewan/saskatchewan-immigrant-nominee-program/applicants-international-skilled-workers/sinp-in-demand-occupation-list

I have 5+ years of experience in computer programming/development though.
Have you applied ?

yisab

Sep 20, 2020
Any Confirmation?