+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Setting up new credit in Canada

Bincanada

May 19, 2015
I'm just starting out my new life as a Canadian, immigrated from the US and so thrilled to make the switch. So far I've been nothing but impressed with the new opportunities and options going forward. I have always felt more at home in Canada, and now that it is my home I couldn't be more happy.

Do any of you have experience with credit and building credit in Canada? I didn't leave the US for this reason, but while I was in the US I had some debt problems and wasn't able to pay off some final debts before moving north of the border. Several of them were medical debts, which I'm so proud that in Canada I'll never experience that problem again!!! I fear that my US credit report will somehow haunt me. Most of these accounts are now over a year old and I am not going to bother worrying with them. But, my hope is that when I have credit checked north of the border it won't pull any US reports. I did put a freeze on my US credit reports before I left, so I should be safe... I worry mostly because I hear TransUnion and Equifax both operate credit reporting agencies in Canada, but do any of you have experience/knowledge if they ever cross reference US accounts? Like I said, I've put a freeze on my US credit reports and I hope that's enough to keep any cross-referencing from ever occurring.

I am not applying for credit yet, but I'm hoping to hear if you guys have had a good experience establishing new credit here in Canada for those of us who have migrated already. I look forward to building a healthy credit file as a new Canadian. I just received my SIN, and I can certainly start applying when I want to. But do any of you have any tips or advice or stories of how long it took you to get a respectable credit card balance, how quickly you qualified for an auto loan, or even became eligible for mortgages?