+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Self Employed (Author, Writer)

annaanna

Jul 22, 2014
Hello,

I'm new to this forum. Hi everyone :). I just started researching immigration to Canada under the self employed category. I recently opened my own company which focuses a lot on copywriting and content writing for blogs, websites, brochures, etc. I have also published a few books and I am just now starting to generate income from my activities. However, I have been writing for over 10 years. I just never pursued it actively before now. My work is very location independent and I run it on my own from home and can work anywhere as long as I have a laptop and internet connection. I also have all the funds required to settle in Canada but my company is less than a year old. Would that count against me if I apply under the self-employed category for Authors and Writers now? Or should I just wait for about a year before applying? Thanks in advance for your answers :)

Ponga

VIP Member
Oct 22, 2013
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
My understanding is that it takes a lot of money and even more time to choose this pathway to Canada.

As an independent artist myself, I wish you all the best in this endeavor.

The good news, is that if you do come to Canada to visit, you wouldn't need a work permit, since you work remotely for clients outside on Canada (and so long as you are not remunerated in CDN dollars from an individual, or company in Canada). :)

Good luck!

tiffers787

Mar 11, 2014
I immigrated under the self employment category and I only had a little over the required the settlement funds. I do believe they look for a certain number of years of self employment experience though, so you might want to look into that a little more.