+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Public school registration for kids on TRV

goldenlizard

Apr 1, 2022
Seeking inputs on my situation.

I am a Permanent Resident living in Canada. My family will join me in a few months on TRV. Once they arrive I will be doing an Inland Family sponsorship for their PR.

In the meantime, I want to admit my kids to public school. I already know this is legally possible - confirmed both by our lawyer as well as settlement experts who were in touch with me after I landed in Canada. Its also stated in this link that a study permit is not required if parent is a PR.

My question is about the registration form for the school which lists that I should provide one of the following documents for the child.
1. Birth certificate (and study permit or visitor record and passport if parent is residing in BC with a work permit or study permit)
2. Passport (and study permit or visitor record if passport is not Canadian)
3. Canadian Citizenship card
4. Permanent Resident Card (front and back) and passport
5. Confirmation of Landed Immigrant or Permanent Resident status and passport
6. Certificate of Indian Status issued by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
7. Refugee Claimant or Refugee Status documentation – if child has own documents, parent documents not required (copy must be kept in student file)
Not sure if my situation is 2 or 5.

I don't think my children will get any visitor record when they land. I guess their TRV will be stamped; thats all.
Does that correspond to "Confirmation of Landed Immigrant"?

Grateful for advice and input.

steaky

VIP Member
Nov 11, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..

I am a Permanent Resident living in Canada. My family will join me in a few months on TRV. Once they arrive I will be doing an Inland Family sponsorship for their PR.