+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

PRTD with expired PR card?

jrpilot

Nov 30, 2023
Hi guys,

So my story is a little bit complicated, hopefully I will be able to explain my issue.

I am a Canadian permanent resident since childhood however due to the illness of a close family member l've spent more than 3 years overseas, so I do not meet the requirements for a PR card renewal. My card expired last month. Now I would have the chance to travel back to my family (everyone is a Canadian citizen, I was also raised by a Canadian step-father, I just couldn't get my citizenship due to the frequent travelling required to take care of the family member overseas.)

thought I could just grab my passport from another country and apply for an ETA when I read that permanent residency doesn't expire and if I was a resident of Canada ever then I need to obtain a PRTD or give up my permanent resident status.

First I would give a shot to keep my status as in the future I would like to go back to Canada as I was raised there (went to elementary, high school, etc.) have most of my family in the country, and consider myself a Canadian resident. Due to the unfortunate circumstances especially during the pandemic caused me to overrun the 3 year period which I am allowed to spend abroad for PR card renewal.

What are the chances that the PRTD will be given to me if I explain the situation? Has anyone ever been in the same position?

How long does this usually take? (My flight would be in March and unfortunately it is non-refundable.)

Any help or experience sharing is very appreciated.

scylla

VIP Member
Jun 8, 2010
Toronto
Category........
Visa Office......
Buffalo
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
28-05-2010
AOR Received.
19-08-2010
File Transfer...
28-06-2010
Passport Req..
01-10-2010
VISA ISSUED...
05-10-2010
LANDED..........
05-10-2010
Hi guys,

So my story is a little bit complicated, hopefully I will be able to explain my issue.