+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

off campus work experience counts or not in cec

amanpreet

May 13, 2013
I was an international student in Canada from the time period of Sept, 2011 to June 2012.

As soon as I finished my education, I started working in mobile networking company as a technician from June, 2012. At that time I was on off-campus work permit. Later on 23 August, 2012 I got my post graduate work permit.

Now, based on one year work experience, I was planing to apply for immigration and for that I need some information.

1. So what period will be counted as "one year work experience" in my case. Will it be from the time I got my post grad work permit or the day I started working in company (even if I was on off-campus work permit).

2. Since my post grad work permit is expiring on 23 Aug, 2013. Once I apply for immigration, till I get the result declared for my application will I be able to stay and continue my work in Canada even if my status expired?

I am very confused at this point, particularity on the question 1. I will be thankful to CIC office if you can provide me relevant information. But I got my degree on june 23. Does my experience will complete on 23june ,2013 or I have to wait till 23 August,2013. Please help me.

seab

Star Member
Mar 1, 2013
any experience you received under the off campus permit will not count. they will start counting from the post grad work permit issue date. I was in the same situation.

amanpreet

May 13, 2013
Hi, Thanks for you reply.

But I read on CIC website, that work you do after completion of study do counts towards Canadian Experience Class.

As you have mentioned that you were in the same situation, then what you did to figure it out!
My Work permit is expiring on 23 -Aug -2013 and I do not have LMO or any employer who can provide it to me.

Any Suggestions or will will be very appreciated. Thank you.

Ken.C

May 2, 2013
amanpreet said: