+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

ODSP JOINT BENEFIT UNIT SPOUSAL SPONSORSHIP

RoxasTheNobody

Apr 10, 2019
I recently received my PR. My husband who's sponsoring me is on ODSP and works part time. Our application was successful even though he is on ODSP.

Our worry is that, although it CLEARLY states that I cannot collect welfare, my Husband's social worker at the Ministry of Social Services, said that I need to be added to his disability unit.

This simply means that I would receive free prescription coverage, free vision care, and husband's disability benefits would increase approximately $425.00.

But in theory since my name would be included on his disability unit, wouldn't this would be money I would also be receiving?

Our social worker has assured us that it's entirely legal, and that I am eligible to be included in his benefit unit as I am a permanent resident and that we wouldn't need to repay anything as it's under my husband's name and not mine but we are worried it may be too similar to welfare.

I keep getting conflicting answers from ODSP and in forums.

We worked hard to get to where we are now, and while the extra money and prescription coverage would assist in helping my husband in meeting his obligation of supporting me for three years, we're more concerned that we do not do ANYTHING to jeopardize my status, or create a situation wherein he needs to repay money later.

If anyone has any information on about this or has gone through anything similar I would be grateful to hear.

It's been impossible to speak to a human being at CIC and ODSP really don't know what they're doing to be honest.

Thank you,

Gabrielmorrow

Apr 9, 2020
For the record I talked to odsp and know the answer

You can be added as part of benefits unit your sponser will incur a debt

But as long as you two never have a sponsorship breakdown odsp will not collect on the debt