+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Not sure about education points - should I apply? Need advice!

kisunja

Star Member
Nov 2, 2008
Hi all,
sorry if this topic was discussed before, i just would like to ensure I understand everything correctly.
I have a 5-year first degree from Russia, but I suppose it counts as Bachelor. and I am sure to finish my Masters in Canada in May. I have 18.5 years of full-time education. So here are 2 questions:

1. Do I have a chance to get 25 or 22 points for education if I provide the letter explaining that I will have the degree in hand in May? Should such a letter be from the Department or my own explanations would suffice?

2. In case I get only 20 points, I will have 66 in total, one point short of the pass mark.
2.1 In case an officer will start doing the initial assessment BEFORE I get the degree, can I expect that he/she will wait till May and give me 25 points?
2.2 If not, and I get only 20 points, are they more likely to call me for an interview or reject the application right away? What happens more often?
2.3Does it make sense to apply in January, b/c they might not make a decision till May anyway? Or do I have more chance if I apply with the degree in hand?

Any advice/experience sharing appreciated!

PMM

VIP Member
Jun 30, 2005
Hi

kisunja said:
Hi all,
sorry if this topic was discussed before, i just would like to ensure I understand everything correctly.
I have a 5-year first degree from Russia, but I suppose it counts as Bachelor. and I am sure to finish my Masters in Canada in May. I have 18.5 years of full-time education. So here are 2 questions:

1. Do I have a chance to get 25 or 22 points for education if I provide the letter explaining that I will have the degree in hand in May? Should such a letter be from the Department or my own explanations would suffice?

2. In case I get only 20 points, I will have 66 in total, one point short of the pass mark.