+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

NOC Codes 2174 or 2175 for a full stack Web Developer?

james89

Nov 4, 2015
Hi everyone,

This is probably more directed at those who have applied for Express Entry with one of these NOC codes but any help is appreciated. I am currently filling out the work experience section of Express Entry profile, but I'm unsure which NOC code to choose based on my job. It is between 2174 (Computer Programmers and Interactive Media Developers) and 2175 (Web Designers and Developers)

I am a full stack web developer, meaning that I'm generally responsible for programming the backend / server-side code for websites and web-based applications (using general purpose languages) as well as coding the front-end user interface with web-specific languages. I have also been involved with integrating content management systems for websites.

The typical requirements for the job are a degree in Computer Science or similar, as long as it involves programming. This seems to be more consistent with NOC 2174, as NOC 2175 says that degrees in Communication and Business are also acceptable. The duties of 2174 also have a particular focus on programming, where as 2175 appears to focus on content development (including graphic design) but still mentions programming. This is where I'm getting confused.

The example job titles listed for both codes are also rather ambiguous. 2174 includes Web Programmer and 2175 includes Web Developer. For the two jobs I've had in this industry, my previous job title was Web Developer and my current title is just Developer. However I'm unsure of whether my duties and skills fall more into 2174 or 2175.

I'm wanting to make sure that I pick the right one. If I do fall into both categories, I would rather pick the one which would be in higher demand. Can anyone advise on how I should proceed?

Thanks

Reactions: rajatkhare

GokulGuruprasad

Oct 26, 2015
Toronto, ON
Category........
FSW
james89 said: