+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Need urgent guidance

anaesthetist

Mar 16, 2012
Hey. We (me, wife and daughter) landed in Canada march 2012 under the federal skilled workers programand became PRs. Professionally I am a doctor, currently specializing in anaesthesia. My wife is also a doctor specializing in internal medicine. Upon recieving our PR cards we have now come back to our homeland to complete our residencies. I still have another 36 months left to specialize. My residency ends Dec 2015. Now due to our professional obligations we may only be able to come to Canada in Jan 2016. The problem is under the immigration law we need to be in canada for 3 years out of 5 to be eligible apply again for a PR card. but as it stands I may have to spend the next 36 months in my homeland.

Is there a law within the immigration system that allows me the above relaxation I need. The problem is that I may come to canada today but it would take me a lot of time to get into a medical residency program there. But on the other hand if I specialize first and then come to Canada I may be able to get into a fellowship program easily. As it stands, if there isnt a way out I may have to leave my residency and move to canada.

The second issue I want to consult you about is that my wife is currently pregnant with our 2nd child. As of now we dont have any medical insurance in Canada, and in order to have one we would have to live there for 3 months initially. Her delivery is due 1st Nov 2012. With the residency schedules we run here, it is impossible for us to get a 3 month leave so as to head to canada, get our health cards and then deliver. Kindly let me know how would my 2nd child be a premanent resident if he/she is born outside Canada

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
You only have to live in Canada for 2 years (730 days) out of 5 to keep your PR but it sounds like you might not be able to do that either.