+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Need an advice

Lilly1208

Dec 14, 2009
Hi there,

I am a foreign worker now. I graduated from Post Grad program (1 year) in April 2008. I am dating a Canadian guy for about 1,5 years. We met in BC where we used to work but after I found out that my employer at that time were not going to extend my visa I moved to Alberta. We are in love but live separately and have long distance relationships. And it's crazy hard for both of us. I work in Alberta and he works in BC, but he is from Ontario. So he plans to marry me and go back to Ontario as soon as we can.

My questions are:
1) Can I go to Ontario with him while my papers for Immigration are still in process if I hold work permit with an employer in Alberta?
2) What would be the best option for us so we can be together?

Thanks!!!
Lilly

Karlshammar

Champion Member
Sep 3, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
1. Depends on the conditions on your work permit.
2. If you are not able to immigrate under another category (provincial, skilled worker, CEC), either live with him for a year to become common-law or get married and then have him sponsor you for PR.

ariell

Oct 9, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
I don't see him coming to live with you in Alberta listed as an option. Why doesn't he do that??

If you are planning to marry then it would faster for him to sponsor you as his wife than applying through one of the other immigration categories (skilled worker etc.)

Depending on where you're from, it would likely be faster for you to apply outland (i.e. your application is processed by the visa office responsible for your country) than applying inland (where your application is processed in Canada).

I don't know the details or the conditions of your work permit, so you'd have to check to see if you are able to move to Ontario.

Lilly1208

Dec 14, 2009
thanks for the prompt reply!