+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Looking for some guidance in regards to immigrating to Quebec

Sofahumper

Jun 2, 2020
Hello, I am a Quebec resident and am writing this for my girlfriend, who lives in the UK. She has decided that she wants to move here, and she has already stayed six months at once, plus many smaller visits. We are just not sure what is the best way to proceed. We were thinking of a student visa then a PGWP, but after that, what would we do. And if there is a more natural way for her to stay here, that would be perfect. If not, what type, of course, would be best, and what should we do. Also, for added info, she doesn't speak a lick of French and will have to learn. Just looking for some guidance, thank you.

canuck78

VIP Member
Jun 18, 2017
Hello, I am a Quebec resident and am writing this for my girlfriend, who lives in the UK. She has decided that she wants to move here, and she has already stayed six months at once, plus many smaller visits. We are just not sure what is the best way to proceed. We were thinking of a student visa then a PGWP, but after that, what would we do. And if there is a more natural way for her to stay here, that would be perfect. If not, what type, of course, would be best, and what should we do. Also, for added info, she doesn't speak a lick of French and will have to learn. Just looking for some guidance, thank you.
Will be tough to immigrate to Quebec without any French. Does she qualify for IEC? It is the easiest way to work in Canada but there is a lot of demand from the UK. What is your status in Canada?

Immstu

Champion Member
Jul 31, 2017
As advised above, without French it's almost impossible to get csq here. With rules change effective eom even a spouse/common law needs to have some basic french level.

As a student, rule change in peq would require minimum 12-24 months full time experience in 0, A, B category after studies. A worker needs 36 months.

This may help your friend :