+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Leon, BCGuy - questions regarding P.E. License.

nomad_musafir

Jan 13, 2009
I have received my nomination from Alberta, and I have applied for CIC. I have a masters' degree in Industrial Engg from a highly recognized university in the US. I have over 7 years of experience in the US. I have multiple professional certifications from the professional society in my field - American Society for Quality.

Unlike Canada, Engineering is not a regulated occupation in the US, hence I never bothered with getting my P.E. certification. I understand that I would probably need to be a licensed engineer with APEGGA in order to be employed as as Engineer in Alberta. I am wondering if I need to be working on that aspect while I am waiting for the CIC process.

I have gone through their web site, and I am having trouble finalizing my plan of action. Would it be better to get my P.E. in the states and then provide that documentation to APEGGA or I should get a "Provisional License". I am not sure how A Provisional License would add value since "Provisional Licensee must practice under the supervision and control of a professional member or a registered professional technologist and as such is not entitled to hold a permit to practice with APEGGA."
http://www.apegga.org/Applicants/pdf/PLIC_FAQs.pdf

They use the terms "North American experience" and "Canadian experience" interchangeably. Will my American experience be considered ""North American" enough?

I do not mind taking a couple exams, but I'd be very disappointing if they make me take a bunch of exams and make me work as an "Apprentice" for a year or more under a "licensed" engineer who probably would have less experience and/or education than me.

I would highly appreciate it if you give me some advice regarding this aspect.

Leon

VIP Member
Jun 13, 2008
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..