+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Landed as Permanent Resident - My experience (targeted for all inland PGWPs)

alfredo_245

Feb 8, 2015
Hi everyone,

The reason why I am writing this post is because I have found this forum extremely useful for my application to Permanent Residency. As a “thank you”, I would like to share details of my application experience from top to bottom.

Before I continue, I would like to clarify that this post is mainly focus in Post Graduate Work Permit holders (PGWP) who are planning to apply within Canada and are currently working.

Background:
I went to the University of Victoria in BC. I did a Bachelor of Commerce (4 years) and later moved to Toronto (2012) with a PGWP which had an expiration date in August 10th, 2015 (max - 3 years’ work permit). I used to work in reinsurance multinational in the accounting department as an accountant technician. In late 2014 I moved to a different job (bank).

Concerns before being invited to apply:

1) I found about all the changes in the immigration system at the start of the year (2015). I already had the requirements (work experience), but I was concerned that I was not going to be invited to apply before my PGWP was set to expire.
2) POF concerns: When I created my Express Entry Profile, I put that I had $4,000 CAD. I put this as an estimate but my real amount was less than $3,000. Considering credit card debt, the “real net” amount was probably $1,500 at the time.
3) NOC: One of my main concerns was my NOC. The description of my position, “Technical Accountant” did not match all of the bullets from the CIC NOC website. Once I was invited to apply, I wrote the letter myself, contacted my HR department from my previous job (at that time I was already working in the bank) and hoped them to sign. I applied through NOC 1311.