+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

Indian passport renewal for Permanent Residents

blue_canadian

Aug 23, 2020
Hi There,

I am a Canadian Permanent resident, and an Indian Citizen , and my Passport is about to expire in few months (December 2020).

That being said

1 : If I renew my INDIAN passport, will I get the same passport number or different passport number ?

2 : Do I have to carry both passports to travel to any countries ? or just the new passport it enough ?

3 : I have heard the new Passport printed for PR holders in Toronto will have your Canadian address instead of your INDIAN address ? is there a way we can insist them to have only our INDIAN address printed on the passport instead of the Canadian address ? because we do not have a permanent house in Canada and each time we move to a different house in the province or different provinces do we have to change the address on the passport ? and each time we CHANGE THE ADDRESS in Canada on the passport do we get a new passport with new number ?

primaprime

VIP Member
Apr 6, 2019
1. Probably a different number.
2. Of course not, why would you need an expired passport?
3. Take it up with the Indian consulate. You probably don't need to update your address every time you move though.

MAIL2SUNDAREEE

Star Member
Oct 25, 2019
3 : I have heard the new Passport printed for PR holders in Toronto will have your Canadian address instead of your INDIAN address ? is there a way we can insist them to have only our INDIAN address printed on the passport instead of the Canadian address ? because we do not have a permanent house in Canada and each time we move to a different house in the province or different provinces do we have to change the address on the passport ? and each time we CHANGE THE ADDRESS in Canada on the passport do we get a new passport with new number ?
Always current address is printed on renewed passport(Indian).