+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

In-land Spousal Sponsorship-Open Work Permit?

Mar 8, 2010
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
If a couple is married a week before their temporary resident visa expired but the in land spousal sponsorship application wasn't sent until 8 months later (so status in Canada was expired for 8 months) what does this mean for that person? Will this have a negative affect on their PR application? After the sponsor has been approved is the person still eligible to apply for an Open Work Permit in this case?
Thank you.

automaton82

Aug 28, 2013
Category........
Visa Office......
CPC-V // CPC-M
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
31-12-2013
AOR Received.
28-01-2014
Med's Done....
Sent with app
Interview........
AIP 30-04-2015 // DM 06-05-2015
LANDED..........
19-05-2015 // PR card 28-08-2015
I'm not an expert, but I don't think you can apply for PR/OWP with an expired status. From this link (http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/applications/guides/5289ETOC.asp) it says the applicant must provide:
Immigration document confirming your status in Canada

Examples:

visitor visa,
study permit,
work permit,
temporary resident permit (TRP),
document proving that you have legal status in Canada.

Once you apply though, your status can indeed expire.. but before you applied, if your status expired, then I think you had to leave and come back (or extend your TRV online).

I'm curious, how did you supply proof of your status in Canada if it had already expired?

MaxLet

May 28, 2013
Prevost, Qc
Category........
Visa Office......
Vegreville (Now Montreal)
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
App. Filed.......
04-03-2013
Doc's Request.
CIC ask for MICC: 14-03-13
Nomination.....
CSQ: 09-05-2013
AOR Received.
14-03-2013
Med's Request
07-01-14
Med's Done....
09-01-14
Interview........
WAIVED!+AIP 07-01-14
Passport Req..
DM: 28-02-14
LANDED..........
15-05-2014