+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

If I finish my degree earlier than required, can my spouse continue to work?

erencie

Apr 10, 2013
I am doing a Master degree at a public university and my husband has come over to Canada on "open work permit for spouse of international student". He has successfully secured a skilled job in NOC A and has started working now. Both of our visas (my study permit, his open work permit) has the length of 2 years.

There is one problem now. I tend to study "too fast" (i.e. took many courses within one semester) and there's a tendency for me to graduate earlier than the regular timeline of my program. According to the new regulation released by CIC a few days back, I know that once I graduate, my study permit will expire within 90 days.

Will my husband's open work permit also expire within 90 days upon my graduation? If he wants to continue his current job, what can he do? what can I do?

I know that for myself I can just apply a post-graduate work permit for international students; but I'm not sure how to let my husband also continue to have the valid work visa in Canada. Currently, my husband suggests me to "slow down" my pace in study and deliberately delay the graduation day. But my thinking is that: isn't it better that I have stronger study capabilities and graduate earlier than requirement? I think there might be better ways than deliberately delaying the graduation.

Hope to hear some suggestions in this forum. Thanks so much!

maximin

Star Member
Feb 4, 2014
Once you complete your studies you have 90 days to apply for PGWP.
However, your PGWP will allow your husband to extend his OWP only if you have a job offer of NOC 0,A,B.

My advice: slow down in your studies and let the husband to collect more work experience for CEC. But you might need to take extra courses to maintain a full time status required for PGWP.

canuck_in_uk

VIP Member
May 4, 2012
Visa Office......
London
App. Filed.......
06/12