+1(514) 937-9445 or Toll-free (Canada & US) +1 (888) 947-9445

I have just completed the CEC process - some advice

canadiancoops

Jan 19, 2009
Job Offer........
Pre-Assessed..
Hi

I thought I would post a generic thread here about some of the things I have encountered applying through the CEC process and finally getting to the end...feel free to add or ask any questions

I am fron the UK and I originally submiited an application under the FSW program. However after 1 year without an AOR I pulled it and submitted my application through CEC back on May 7th, 09. They refunded my original payment and it took about 12 weeks to receive it back

I have a partner. I have been working for RBC for the past 4 years (initially on an open work permit, and then 3 LMO approved work permits, all the time my partner has been on an open work permit attached to my approval)

I submitted the documents required for the CEC for me and my wife. All copies I sent were NOT certified. Only originals were things like reference letters from previous employment and my letter to state that I speak English (no IELTS required) I used the NOC on my work permit

I submitted the application on May7th and received my AOR (Acknowledgement of Receipt) on June 25th (however it was dated June 17th). It included my file number that I could follow on the website here https://services3.cic.gc.ca/ecas/?app=ecas&lang=en

I then received my IA (Initial Assessment) on Aug 16th, but it was dated July 26, meaning it took almost a month to get to me. In the IA it requested a medical exam, confirmed that I had my interview waived and also advised me that my police certificates were incorrect (I had used the old style one from the UK but it had changed in January to the new style (e-mail me on this if you have questions)